Text Size: A  A  A

Map: Chesapeake Bay Watershed Physiography

Physiographic provinces in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed. Physiographic data derived from USGS and modified by the Chesapeake Bay Program GIS Team to divide the Piedmont into three distinct regions. Two out of the eight major US physiographic regions fall within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed; the Atlantic Plains and Appalachian Highlands. Within these regions, there are eight provinces within the Bay Watershed; the Appalachian Plateau, Appalachian Mountain, Blue Ridge, Great Valley, Mezosoic Lowland, Piedmont Upland, Piedmont Lowland, and Coastal Plains. Physiographic provinces are categorized by rock type, terrain texture, as well as geologic structure and history.

Author: Emma Andrews

Date created: Feb 06 2008 / Download ( 2.26 MB )

Chesapeake Bay Watershed Physiography
410 Severn Avenue / Suite 112
Annapolis, Maryland 21403
Tel: (800) YOUR-BAY / Fax: (410) 267-5777
Directions to the Bay Program Office
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
©2012 Chesapeake Bay Program | All Rights Reserved