Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The Modeling Lab Action Team is committed to proceeding forward with more in-depth evaluation of the recommendation for establishing a Chesapeake Bay Modeling Laboratory and other alternatives to achieve the recommendations of the NRC committee. The action team will report back to the Management Board on its findings, options, and recommendations. In turn, the Management Board would then decide on what specific recommendations to put forward for deliberation and final decisions by the Principals’ Staff Committee.

Responsibilties

  • Evaluation of other existing modeling laboratories and adaptive management programs that encompass modeling, addressing how they function and how applicable their structure, and mandate is to the Chesapeake Bay Program Partnership.
  • Consideration of the range of options for what would constitute a Chesapeake Bay modeling laboratory, a virtual laboratory, or responsive program reorganization that is capable of carrying out the functions outlined by the NRC committee and addressing the series of existing STAC and the jurisdictions’ recommendations on modeling.
  • Development of options and recommendations for actual institutional sponsorship and how the laboratory would function for carrying out mandates.
  • Assessment of the possible range of financial investments and funding mechanisms required.

Why a Modeling Lab?

  • Evaluating uncertainty in model simulations and assessing monitoring data needs
  • Improve the predictive skill of the models
  • Improve model credibility
  • Incorporating multiple modeling approaches
  • Emphasize open-source models exercised cooperatively with the scientific community

Projects and Resources

Members

Mark Bennett (Chair), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1730 East Parham Road
Richmond, Virginia 23228

Email:  mrbennet@usgs.gov
Phone:  (804) 261-2643
Amy Guise, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Baltimore District
Address:
US Army Engineer District, 10 South Howard St Baltimore City Crescent Building
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Email:  Amy.m.guise@usace.army.mil
Phone:  (410) 962-6138
Don Weller, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Address:
647 Contees Wharf Road
Edgewater, Maryland 21037-0028

Email:  wellerd@si.edu
Gary Shenk, Hydrologist, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gshenk@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 507-2681
Heather Cisar, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Baltimore District
Address:
10 South Howard Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21203

Email:  heather.r.cisar@usace.army.mil
Phone:  (410) 962-2911
Kevin Sellner, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
645 Contees Wharf Rd.
Edgewater, Maryland 21037

Email:  sellnerk@si.edu
Lee Currey, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Boulevard
Suite 540
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  lcurrey@mde.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 537-3913
Lewis Linker, Modeling Coordinator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  linker.lewis@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5741
Marjy Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  marjy@VIMS.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7695
Ted Tesler, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
P.O. Box 2063
400 Market Street, 2nd Floor
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105

Email:  thtesler@state.pa.us
Phone:  (717) 772-5621
Bill Keeling, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
P O Box 1105
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  william.keeling@deq.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 698-4342
Dave Montali, Tetra Tech
Address:
601 57th St SE
Charleston, Westvirginia 25304

Email:  dave.montali@tetratech.com
Phone:  (304) 414-0054 x104
Claire Welty, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Address:
1000 Hilltop Circle TRC 102
Baltimore, Maryland 21250

Email:  weltyc@umbc.edu
Phone:  (410) 455-1766
Dominic Di Toro, University of Delaware
Address:
356 DuPont Hall University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware 19716

Email:  dditoro@udel.edu
Phone:  (302) 831-4092
Howard Townsend, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
Cooperative Oxford Lab 904 S. Morris Street
Oxford, Maryland 21654

Email:  Howard.Townsend@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 226-5193
Larry Band, University of North Carolina
Address:
UNC Department of Geography Saunders Hall Campus Box 3220
Chapel hill, Northcarolina 27599

Email:  lband@email.unc.edu
Phone:  (919) 962-3921
Raleigh Hood, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. Box 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  rhood@hpl.umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 221-8434
Rick Luettich, University of North Carolina
Address:
UNC Marine Sciences Program 150 Coker Hall 3431 Arendell Street
Morehead city, Northcarolina 28557

Email:  rick_luettich@unc.edu
Phone:  (252) 726-6841 x137
Theo Dillaha, Virginia Tech
Address:
310 Seitz Hall
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

Email:  dillaha@vt.edu
Phone:  (540) 231-6813