Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The diverse fauna of the Chesapeake Bay needs sufficient dissolved oxygen (DO) throughout the tidal waters to survive and thrive. Water quality criteria for dissolved oxygen (DO) were developed for the Chesapeake Bay according to designated uses that protect the habitat suitable for supporting survival, growth and reproduction of fish, shellfish and other aquatic life. Criteria assessment currently involves spatially interpolating DO observations with an inverse-distance-weighting tool, but the Chesapeake Bay Program is interested in revising this approach.

The Bay Oxygen Research Group assists in developing a new water quality interpolation tool to generate DO estimates across space and through time, improving upon the current spatial interpolation used in the Chesapeake Bay. The output of the tool will allow for expanded evaluation of short-duration criteria (i.e., instantaneous minimum, 1-day mean, 7 day mean) and aid in habitat assessments. The group will focus on development of the initial tools from 2021 to 2023 before advancing work on application and education in the following years (2023 – 2025).

Members

Peter Tango (Coordinator), Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Breck Sullivan (Staffer), Scientific, Technical Assessment & Reporting Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  bsullivan@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5788
Rebecca Murphy, Water Quality Analyst, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rmurphy@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9837
Elgin Perry, Independent Consultant
Address:
410 Severn Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  eperry@chesapeake.net
Gary Shenk, Hydrologist, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gshenk@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 507-2681
Isabella Bertani, Assistant Research Scientist, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ibertani@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5727
Tish Robertson, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  tlrobertson@deq.virginia.gov
Angie Wei, Geospatial Analyst, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  zwei@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5735
Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  cfried@vims.edu
Richard Tian, Research Scientist, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rtian@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 295-1328
Bruce Vogt, Ecosystem Science Manager, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Tom Parham, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  tparham@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8633
Mark Trice, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mtrice@dnr.state.md.us
Matthew Stover, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Boulevard, Suite 540
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  mstover@mde.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 537-3611
Lucretia Brown, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
51 N Street NE
5th Floor
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  lucretia.brown@dc.gov
Leah Ettma, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1060 Chapline St Suite 303
Wheeling, Westvirginia 26003

Email:  Ettema.Leah@epa.gov
Amanda Shaver, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
1111 East Main St
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov
Andrew Keppel, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  andrew.keppel@maryland.gov
Diana Domotor, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Diana.Domotor@maryland.gov
Mark Nardi, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
5522 Research Park Dr
Catonsville, Maryland 21228

Email:  mrnardi@usgs.gov