Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee (CBSAC) combines the expertise of state representatives and scientists from the Chesapeake Bay region with federal fisheries scientists from the National Marine Fisheries Service’s Northeast and Southeast Fisheries Science Centers. This committee has met each year since 1997 to review the results of annual Chesapeake Bay blue crab surveys and harvest data, and to develop management advice for Chesapeake Bay jurisdictions: the state of Maryland, Commonwealth of Virginia, and the Potomac River Fisheries Commission (PRFC).

Projects and Resources

CBSAC Membership Application

Application to become a member of the Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee (CBSAC).

2021 CBSAC Charter

Updated charter for the Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee (CBSAC). Finalized December 2021 and approved by the SFGIT Executive Committee February 2022.

Blue Crab Harvest Reporting Efforts

Document providing an overview of current efforts enlisted by management jurisdictions to collect blue crab harvest information and challenges to improving reporting accuracy. Created December 2021.

2020 CBSAC Charter Update

Updated charter for the Chesapake Bay Stock Assessment Committee. Finalized November 2020.

Charter: Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee (Feb 2016)

Charter for the Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee. Updated February 2016.

Publications

2021 Blue Crab Advisory Report

Annual report published by the Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee that summarizes the results of the Winter Dredge Survey and harvest information, and provides management advice for the jurisdictions based on stock status.

Download publication

View details
View All

Watershed Agreement

Sustainable Fisheries Goal

Members

Pat Geer (Chair), Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
2600 Washington Avenue
Newport news, Virginia 23607

Email:  pat.geer@mrc.virginia.gov
Mandy Bromilow (Coordinator), Fishery Program Analyst at NCBO, ERT, Inc.
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mandy.bromilow@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5667
Bruce Vogt (Staffer), Sustainable Fisheries Coordinator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Ellen Cosby, Potomac River Fisheries Commission
Address:
TBD
Tbd, Maryland TBD

Email:  ellen.prfc@verizon.net
Glenn Davis, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gdavis@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 643-4601
Daniel Hennen, National Marine Fisheries Service
Address:
TBA
Tba, Massachusetts TBA

Email:  Daniel.Hennen@noaa.gov
Phone:  (508) 495-2000
Eric Johnson, University of Northern Florida
Address:
1 UNF Drive
Jacksonville, Florida 32224

Email:  e.johnson.147778@unf.edu
Alexa Kretsch, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
380 Fenwick Road
Hampton, Virginia 23651

Email:  alexa.kretsch@mrc.virginia.gov
Rom Lipcius, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Virginia Institute of Marine Science, PO Box 1348
Andrews Hall 427
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  rom@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7330
Genine McClair, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  genine.mcclair@maryland.gov
Thomas Miller, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  miller@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 326-7276
Amy Schueller, National Marine Fisheries Service
Address:
101 Pivers Island Road
Beaufort, Northcarolina 28516

Email:  Amy.Schueller@noaa.gov
Phone:  (252) 838-0815
Michael Seebo, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Post Office Box 1346
1375 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mseebo@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7641
Alexei Sharov, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Building B2
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ASHAROV@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8288
Michael Wilberg, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  wilberg@umces.edu