Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The long-term success and sustainability of the Chesapeake Bay restoration effort will ultimately depend on the actions and support of the 17 million residents of the region who call the watershed home. The cumulative impact of these millions of individuals and their daily actions can both positively and negatively affect the health of watersheds, streams and rivers. Hundreds of local conservation and watershed organizations in addition to a growing number of community associations, religious institutions and others are leading efforts at the local scale to engage and empower residents to restore local streams, reduce pollution, protect the environment and improve their communities. The efforts of these groups and of community leaders also result in an ever increasing number of residents adopting behaviors and taking individual actions that ultimately reduce our collective impact on the Bay.

The 2014 Agreement contained a Stewardship Outcome to, “Increase the number and diversity of trained and mobilized resident volunteers with the knowledge and skills needed to enhance the health of their local watersheds." The Stewardship team has formed to facilitate the implementation of this Stewardship Outcome. The team includes representation from federal, state, local and non-profit partners responsible and committed to stewardship activities.

Publications

View All

Members

Britt Slattery (Coordinator), Fostering Chesapeake Stewardship (GIT5) Coordinator, National Park Service (NPS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 314
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Britt_Slattery@nps.gov
Suzanne Etgen, Executive Director, Anne Arundel County Watershed Stewards Academy
Address:
975 Indian Landing Rd
Millersville, Maryland 21108

Email:  setgen@aacps.org
Phone:  (410) 222-3831
Jennifer Dindinger
Address:
501 Court Lane
Room 208
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  jdinding@umd.edu
Julie Lawson, Citizen's Advisory Committee, Citizens' Advisory Committee
Address:
6548 Eastern Avenue NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20012

Email:  lawson.julie@gmail.com
Phone:  (202) 347-0412
Steve Raabe, Opinion Works
Address:
7 Willow Street, Suite 200
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  steve@opinionworks.com
Jessica Blackburn, Coordinator, Citizens' Advisory Committee
Address:
P.O. Box 1981
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  jblackburn@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (804) 775-0951
Rachel Felver, Director of Communications, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 112
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rfelver@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5740
Virginia Witmer, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  virginia.witmer@deq.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 698-4320
Amanda Rockler, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
3300 North Ridge Road
Suite 240
Ellicott city, Maryland 21043

Email:  arockler@umd.edu
Phone:  (410) 313-2708
Laura Cattell Noll, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lnoll@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Shannon Sprague, Education Workgroup Co-Chair, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Suite 107-A
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  shannon.sprague@NOAA.GOV
Phone:  (410) 267-5664
Kelly Rossiter, Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (PA DCNR)
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105

Email:  krossiter@pa.gov
Phone:  (717) 772-3319