Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

Changing climatic and sea level conditions may alter the Bay ecosystem and human activities, requiring adjustment to policies, programs and projects to successfully achieve our restoration and protection goals for the Chesapeake Bay and its watershed. This challenge requires careful monitoring and assessment of these impacts and application of this knowledge to policies, programs and projects.The Climate Resiliency Workgroup coordinates climate-related efforts to address climate resilliency for the Chesapeake Bay Program as deemed a priority of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Juristictions noted in the 2014 Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement.

Core Workgroup Values

  • Increase the resiliency of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, including its living resources, habitats, public infrastructure and communities, to withstand adverse impacts from changing environmental and climate conditions.
  • Continually monitor and assess the trends and likely impacts of changing climatic and sea level conditions on the Chesapeake Bay ecosystem, including the effectiveness of restoration and protection policies, programs, and projects.
  • Continually pursue, design, and construct restoration and protection projects to enhance the resiliency of Bay and aquatic ecosystems from the impacts of coastal erosion, coastal flooding, more intense and more frequent storms, and sea level rise.

In June, 2021 the Climate Resiliency Management Strategy was released. This strategy currently serves as the guide for climate related planning, reserach and programmatic efforts for the Chesapeake Bay Program Partnership.

To learn more about planned activities, review the Climate Resiliency Logic and Action Plan.

The Climate Resiliency Management Strategy and Climate Resiliency Logic and Action Plan was updated in June 2021 as a result of Strategy Review System (SRS) process.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Chesapeake Resiliency News is a quarterly news and information service for Chesapeake Bay Program partners, including scientists, researchers, planners, policy-makers and practitioners interested in learning more about climate-related efforts underway in the Chesapeake Bay watershed.

Email Address *

Review past issues of the Climate Resiliency Newsletter.

Projects and Resources

Climate Change Indicator Frameworks

View All

Publications

A systematic review of Chesapeake Bay climate change impacts and uncertainty: watershed processes, pollutant delivery and BMP performance

Climate change in the Chesapeake Bay will affect the effort to reach the TMDL, and maintain needed nutrient and sediment reductions. In an effort to determine how baseline nutrient and sediment loads will likely change in response to climate, and the best management practices (BMPs) being used to reduce them will function, a modified systematic review process was undertaken. Using this process we reviewed research literature and studies related to two primary questions: 1. How do climate change and variability affect nutrient/sediment cycling in the watershed?; and 2. How do climate change and variability affect BMP performance?

Acknowledgements:

We want to thank and acknowledge the incredibly helpful and constructive comments from Julie Reichert-Nguyen, our steering committee (Raymond Najjar, Julie Shortridge, Kurt Stephenson, Lisa Wainger) and other reviewers including Lew Linker, David Wood, Alex Gunnerson, and Ken Staver. We are also grateful to Gary Shenk and Denice Wardrop for their valuable input. We also wish to thank members of the various Chesapeake Bay Program Goal Implementation Teams and workgroups that listened, and provided valuable input in response, to the numerous presentations dating back to 2020, particularly the Water Quality Goal Implementation Team, Climate Resiliency Workgroup, Modeling Workgroup, and Urban Stormwater Workgroup.

Suggested Citation: Hanson, J., E. Bock, B. Asfaw, and Z.M. Easton. 2022. A systematic review of Chesapeake Bay climate change impacts and uncertainty: watershed processes, pollutant delivery and BMP performance. CBP/TRS-330-22.

Download publication

View details
View All

Related Links

NOAA: Chesapeake Atlantis Model

An approach for conducting formal management strategy evaluation—a simulation that accounts for tradeoffs in performance across a range of management objectives

Visit link

NOAA: Ecosystem Modeling

Develops and hones tools to support ecosystem-based management of the Chesapeake Bay’s natural resources, including fisheries

Visit link

Members

Mark Bennett (Chair), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1730 East Parham Road
Richmond, Virginia 23228

Email:  mrbennet@usgs.gov
Phone:  (804) 261-2643
Jackie Specht (Chair), The Nature Conservancy
Address:
425 Barlow Pl #100
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Email:  jackie.specht@tnc.org
Julie Reichert-Nguyen (Coordinator), Climate Resiliency Workgroup Coordinator, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  julie.reichert-nguyen@noaa.gov
Jamileh Soueidan (Staffer), Climate Resiliency Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  jamileh.soueidan@noaa.gov
Elizabeth Andrews, College of William and Mary
Address:
PO Box 8795
Williamsburg, Virginia 23187

Email:  eaandrews@wm.edu
Nicole Carlozo, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  nicole.carlozo@maryland.gov
Ann Jennings, Virginia Office of Natural Resources
Address:
Patrick Henry Building
1111 East Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  Ann.Jennings@governor.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 786-0044
Jim George, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Boulevard
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  jgeorge@mde.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 537-3579
Susan Herrod Julius, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW (Mail code: 8601P)
Office of Research and Development, EPA
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20460

Email:  julius.susan@epa.gov
Phone:  (703) 347-8619
Molly Mitchell, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1208 Greate Rd
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  molly@vims.edu
Fredrika Moser, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
4321 Hartwick Road, Suite 300
College park, Maryland 20740

Email:  moser@mdsg.umd.edu
Jennifer Volk, University of Delaware Cooperative Extension
Address:
69 Transportation Circle
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  jennvolk@udel.edu
Qian Zhang, Watershed Effectiveness Data Analyst, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  qzhang@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5794
Kevin DuBois, U.S. Department of the Navy
Address:
1510 Gilbert Street
Bldg N26, Room 3300
Norfolk, Virginia 23511

Email:  kevin.dubois@navy.mil
Phone:  (757) 341-0424
Katie Brownson, Watershed Specialist, U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Katherine.Brownson@usda.gov
Joel Carr, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Address:
12100 Beech Forest Rd
Laurel, Maryland 20708

Email:  jcarr@usgs.gov
Sally Claggett, Program Coordinator, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 209
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sclaggett@fs.fed.us
Phone:  (410) 267-5706
Cassandra Davis, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Address:
625 Broadway
Albany, Newyork 12233

Email:  cassandra.davis@dec.ny.gov
Jason Dubow, Maryland Department of Planning
Address:
 301 West Preston Street
Suite 1101
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Email:  jason.dubow@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 767-3370
Breck Sullivan, Scientific, Technical Assessment & Reporting Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  bsullivan@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5788
Nora Jackson, Maintain Healthy Watersheds Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  njackson@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5781
Lewis Linker, Modeling Coordinator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  linker.lewis@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5741
Lena Easton-Calabria
Address:
1776 Main Street
Santa monica, California 90401

Email:  leaston@rand.org
Katie Matta, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch St
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  Matta.Katie@epa.gov
Katie McClure, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
College Park
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  mcclure@umd.edu
Ann Phillips, Commonwealth of Virginia
Address:
P.O. Box 1475
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  ann.phillips@governor.virginia.gov
Amanda Poskaitis, National Wildlife Federation
Address:
PO Box 1583
Merrifield, Virginia 22116

Email:  PoskaitisA@nwf.org
Labeeb Ahmed, Geospatial Analyst, Attain
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  lahmed@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5715