A group of people on a research vessel examining some underwater grasses.
Marine biologists examine a species of SAV. Photo by Chesapeake Bay Program
The Habitat Goal Implementation Team works to restore and enhance land and water habitats—including wetlands, living shorelines, underwater grasses, islands, forests and streams—to support key species and benefit water quality, recreational use and scenic value.

Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The Habitat Goal Implementation Team seeks to facilitate the implementation of projects that restore and enhance a network of land and water habitats to support priority species and to afford other public benefits including water quality, recreational uses, and scenic value across the watershed by coordinating the efforts of Chesapeake Bay Program partners. These habitats include tidal and non-tidal wetlands, living shorelines, submerged aquatic vegetation, islands, uplands and forests, and freshwater streams.

Objectives

  • PLAN: To advance habitat protection and restoration through integrated planning, targeting of funding and technical assistance, generating and testing hypothesis regarding priority species outcomes, identification of emerging issues likely to impact living resources and their habitats, and brainstorming solutions.
  • IMPLEMENT: To provide information and technical assistance needed to accelerate implementation of projects that are strategically placed, innovatively designed or of demonstrated successful design, outcome-oriented, and responsive.
  • EVALUATE: To promote and support the collection, synthesis, and trend analysis of monitoring data for Chesapeake Bay living resources to evaluate impacts of habitat management actions.
  • COMMUNICATE: To provide a forum for technical information transfer on restoration techniques and consolidation of performance data across various partner agencies and organizations.
  • ADAPT: To provide adaptive management recommendations regarding the Bay watershed’s priority habitats to the Chesapeake Bay Program's Management Board. Implementation Strategy

The Habitat GIT and associated workgroups will meet periodically to:

  • Align annual work plan with priorities established by the Management Board;
  • Collaborate on implementation of on-the-ground habitat activities;
  • Track and report performance toward two-year milestones identified in the Chesapeake Action Plan annual progress report;
  • Advise Management Board on barriers to progress and recommend policy and administration changes to overcome such barriers.

Projects and Resources

Habitat Goal Implementation Team Fact Sheet

A brief overview of the Habitat Goal Implementation Team and its workgroups.

Publications

2017 Technical Addendum Ambient Water Quality Criteria for Dissolved Oxygen, Water Clarity and Chla

A total of seven addendum documents have been published by EPA since April 2003. Four addenda were published documenting detailed refinements to the criteria attainment and assessment procedures (U.S. EPA 2004a, 2007a, 2008, 2010) previously published in the original April 2003 Chesapeake Bay water quality criteria document (U.S. EPA 2003a). One addendum published Chesapeake Bay numerical chlorophyll a criteria (U.S. EPA 2007b). Three addenda addressed detailed issues involving further delineation of tidal water designated uses (U.S. EPA 2004b, 2005, 2010) building from the original October 2003 tidal water designated uses document (U.S. EPA 2003b). Finally, one addendum documented the 92-segment Chesapeake Bay segmentation scheme (U.S. EPA 2008) after refinements to the Chesapeake Bay Program analytical segmentation schemes were documented (U.S. EPA 2005) building from the original U.S. EPA 2004 document (U.S. EPA 2004b). This 2017 addendum is the eight addendum document developed through the Partnership and published by EPA.

Download publication

View details

Chesapeake Bay Living Resources - 1998

Then Living Resources Subcommittee (LRSc) is committed to the restoration, enhancement, protection and management of the living resources of the Chesapeake Bay. Living resources include fish, shellfish, birds and waterfowl, as well as the submerged aquatic vegetation (SAV), wetlands, and other shoreline and riverine systems important to water quality and fish and wildlife habitats. In cooperation with Bay Program partners, the LRSc supports the restoration of streams, wetlands, Bay grasses (SAV) and aquatic reefs, and the opening of stream blockages for migratory fish passage. The subcommittee also guides the development of Chesapeake Bay-specific fish management plans. LRSc-directed policies and projects have enhanced fish and shellfish populations, helped improve water quality and increased wildlife habitat in the Chesapeake Bay watershed. Ongoing biological monitoring and ecosystem modeling programs contribute significantly to the understand of the Chesapeake Bay's living resource and their relationships with each other, as well as the land and water.

View details
View All

Watershed Agreement

Workgroups and Action Teams

Members

Bill Jenkins (Chair), Acting Deputy Director, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
410 Severn Ave. Suite 109D
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  jenkins.bill@epa.gov
Phone:  (215) 814-2911
Gina Hunt (Chair), Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gina.hunt@maryland.gov
Chris Guy (Coordinator), Habitat Goal Implementation Team Coordinator, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Dr
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  chris_guy@fws.gov
Katlyn Fuentes (Staffer), Habitat Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  fuentesk@chesapeake.org
Mary Andrews, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
410 Severn Ave, Suite 107A
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  Mary.Andrews@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5644
Alan Weaver, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
4010 West Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia 23230

Email:  alan.weaver@dgif.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 367-6795
Alicia Berlin, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12100 Beech Forest Road
Laurel, Maryland 20708

Email:  aberlin@usgs.gov
Phone:  (301) 497-5730
Sally Claggett, Program Coordinator, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 209
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sclaggett@fs.fed.us
Phone:  (410) 267-5706
Julie Mawhorter, Mid-Atlantic Urban and Community Forestry Coordinator, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
151 Grey Towers Dr.
Milford, Pennsylvania 18337

Email:  julie.mawhorter@usda.gov
Phone:  (570) 296-9626
Gwen Brewer, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gbrewer@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8558
David Norris, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
3801 John Tyler Memorial Highway
Charles city, Virginia 23030

Email:  david.norris@dgif.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 641-6698
Steve Strano, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Address:
PO Box 269
Laplata, Maryland 20646

Email:  steve.strano@md.usda.gov
Phone:  (443) 482-2928
Dave Davis, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  dave.davis@deq.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 698-4105
Angie Sowers, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Baltimore District
Address:
10 S. Howard Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21203

Email:  angela.sowers@usace.army.mil
Phone:  (410) 962-7440
Christopher Spaur, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Baltimore District
Address:
CENAB-PL, Attn: Christopher Spaur, P.O. Box 1715
Baltimore, Maryland 21203-1715

Email:  christopher.c.spaur@usace.army.mil
Tom Ihde, Patuxent Environmental & Aquatic Research Laboratory (PEARL)
Address:
10545 Mackall Road
Saint leonard, Maryland 20685

Email:  thomas.ihde@morgan.edu
Ann Swanson, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  aswanson@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Scott Phillips, Chesapeake Bay Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
5522 Research Park Drive
Baltimore, Maryland 21228

Email:  swphilli@usgs.gov
Phone:  (443) 498-5552
Callie McMunigal, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
400 East Main Street
White sulphur springs, Westvirginia 24986

Email:  callie_mcmunigal@fws.gov
Patrick Devers, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
11410 American Holly Drive
Laurel, Maryland 20708

Email:  patrick_devers@fws.gov
Rebecca Golden, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rebecca.golden@maryland.gov
Brooke Landry, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Brooke.Landry@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8629
Bruce Vogt, Sustainable Fisheries Coordinator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Kristen Wolf, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17205

Email:  kwolf@pa.gov
Mitch Hartley, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, Maine 01035

Email:  mitch_hartley@fws.gov
Phone:  (413) 253-8779
Genevieve LaRouche, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Genevieve_LaRouche@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4573
Mike Millard, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
300 Westgate Center Dr.
Hadley, Maine 01035

Email:  Mike_Millard@fws.gov
Phone:  (570) 726-4247
Matt Whitbeck, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
2145 Key Wallace Drive
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  matt_whitbeck@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 228-2692
Mark Hoffman, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mhoffman@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Stephen Faulkner, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  faulkners@usgs.gov
Benjamin Lewis, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
3801 John Tyler Memorial Hwy.
Charles city, Virginia 23030

Email:  benjamin.lewis@dgif.virginia.gov
Neely Law, Fairfax County (VA)
Address:
12000 Government Center Parkway
Suite 449
Fairfax, Virginia 22035

Email:  Neely.Law@fairfaxcounty.gov
Phone:  (410) 461-8323
Sean Corson, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sean.corson@noaa.gov
Kevin DuBois, U.S. Department of the Navy
Address:
1510 Gilbert Street
Bldg N26, Room 3300
Norfolk, Virginia 23511

Email:  kevin.dubois@navy.mil
Phone:  (757) 341-0424
Pam Mason, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Road
P.O. Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mason@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7158
Clint Morgeson, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
7870 Villa Park Drive
Henrico, Virginia 23228

Email:  clinton.morgeson@dgif.virginia.gov
David Thorne, West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
Address:
738 Ward Road
Elkins, Westvirginia 26241

Email:  david.w.thorne@wv.gov
Mike Slattery, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
US FWS Maryland Fishery Resource Office
178 Admiral Cochrane Dr.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  michael_slattery@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4571
Katie Brownson, Watershed Specialist, U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Katherine.Brownson@usda.gov
Jeff Trollinger, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
7870 Villa Park Dr #400
Henrico, Virginia 23228

Email:  jeff.trollinger@dgif.virginia.gov
Steve Saari, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
51 N St, NE
Fifth Floor
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  Steve.saari@dc.gov
Phone:  (202) 535-2961
Todd Lutte, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch St
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  lutte.todd@epa.gov
Alison Santoro, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  alisona.santoro@maryland.gov
Sara Weglein, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue C-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sara.weglein@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8621
Katie Ombalski
Address:
Woods and Waters Consulting, LLC
PO Box 719
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania 16827

Email:  katie@woodswaters.com
Chris Moore, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
3663 Marlin Bay Drive
Virginia beach, Virginia 23454

Email:  cmoore@cbf.org
Phone:  (757) 622-1964
Matt Meyers, Fairfax County (VA)
Address:
12000 Government Center Parkway
Suite 449
Fairfax, Virginia 22035

Email:  matthew.meyers@fairfaxcounty.gov