Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

Hypoxic (low dissolved oxygen) conditions, caused by excess nutrient loads from across the watershed, are a critical stressor for living resources in the Chesapeake Bay. These conditions are projected to worsen with increases in temperature and precipitation. Traditional water column monitoring in the Chesapeake Bay is designed for annual and seasonal insight, but it does not capture short-term dynamic events. High frequency monitoring throughout the water column would improve measurements of hypoxic volume. The Chesapeake Bay Program’s Science Technical Assessment & Reporting (STAR) has tasked this collaborative team with the design and implementation of a bay-wide high-frequency hypoxia profiling network to improve the monitoring and assessment of the Bay. Management applications of the hypoxia monitoring network include WQ criteria assessment and condition of fish habitat.

The development of this network draws together a diverse team of stakeholders consisting of representatives from federal and state government, as well monitoring and modeling experts from the research community. The team will focus on developing a sampling design, defining agency roles and responsibilities, documenting operational costs, recommending QA/QC protocols, prioritizing near term data products and management applications, and designing an analytical framework and model integration. All findings from the collaborative team will be provided in a final report to STAR and broader Chesapeake Bay Program partnership.

Members

Peter Tango (Chair), Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Bruce Vogt (Vice Chair), Ecosystem Science Manager, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Justin Shapiro (Staffer), Sustainable Fisheries Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  justin.shapiro@noaa.gov
Amy Goldfischer (Staffer), Scientific, Technical Assessment and Reporting (STAR) Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  agoldfischer@chesapeakebay.net
Cindy Johnson, STAR Data Integrity Workgroup Chair, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  csjohnson@deq.virginia.gov
Lee McDonnell, Branch Chief, Science, Analysis and Implementation Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  mcdonnell.lee@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5731
Mark Trice, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mtrice@dnr.state.md.us
Tom Parham, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  tparham@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8633
Sean Corson, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sean.corson@noaa.gov
Kevin Schabow, Education Coordinator [National Marine Fisheries Service], NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Suite 107-A
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  Kevin.Schabow@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 295-3145
Jeremy Testa, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  jtesta@umces.edu
Larry Sanford, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. Box 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  lsanford@umces.edu
Marjy Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  marjy@VIMS.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7695
Durga Ghosh, Quality Assurance Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  dghosh@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5750
Dan Dauer, Old Dominion University (ODU)
Address:
5115 Hampton Blvd
Norfolk, Virginia 23508

Email:  ddauer@ODU.edu
Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  cfried@vims.edu
Piero Mazzini, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
N/A
N/a, Virginia N/A

Email:  pmazzini@vims.edu
David Scheurer, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
N/A
N/a, Maryland N/A

Email:  david.scheurer@noaa.gov
Steve Hummel, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
N/A
N/a, Virginia N/A

Email:  Steven.Hummel@deq.virginia.gov
Amanda Shaver, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
1111 East Main St
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov
Jay Lazar, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
N/A
N/a, Maryland N/A

Email:  jay.lazar@noaa.gov