Marine biologist blue catfish that he's caught.
Marine biologist from the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries holds a blue catfish. Photo by Matt Rath/Chesapeake Bay Program

Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The charge of the Invasive Catfish Workgroup is to coordinate activities and recommend actions to implement the five policy objectives outlined in the Invasive Catfish Policy Adoption Statement, signed and adopted by the Fisheries GIT Executive committee on January 24th, 2012. The Workgroup emphasizes bay-wide communication among jurisdictions and engagement of a broad group of members representing the commercial and recreational fishery, seafood processing industry, state agencies and the science community.

The Invasive Catfish Workgroup is responsible for coordinating the best available science and developing methods to evaluate the impacts of invasive catfish species on the Chesapeake Bay ecosystem. The role of the Invasive Catfish Workgroup will be to regularly report out on current knowledge of the issue and incorporate all available information on blue and flathead catfish to inform a management strategy for handling these invasive species across all jurisdictions.

Publications

View All

Members

Bruce Vogt (Chair), Ecosystem Science Manager, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Mandy Bromilow (Coordinator), Fishery Program Analyst at NCBO, ERT, Inc.
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mandy.bromilow@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5667
Geoffrey Smith, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
Address:
TBD
Tbd, Pennsylvania TBD

Email:  geofsmith@pa.gov
Mary Groves, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
DNR Inland Fisheries
Rt 4, Box 106E
Brandywine, Maryland 20613

Email:  mgroves@dnr.state.md.us
Ellen Cosby, Potomac River Fisheries Commission
Address:
TBD
Tbd, Maryland TBD

Email:  ellen.prfc@verizon.net
Mary Fabrizio, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mfabrizio@vims.edu
Robert Hale, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  hale@vims.edu
Greg Garman, Virginia Commonwealth University
Address:
P.O. Box 842030
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2030

Email:  ggarman@vcu.edu
Phone:  (804) 828-1562
Mike Hutt, Virginia Marine Products Board
Address:
554 Denbigh Boulevard, Suite B
Newport news, Virginia 23608

Email:  mhutt@vaseafood.org
Daniel Ryan, DC Division of Fish and Wildlife
Address:
District Department of the Environment
1200 First Street NE
Washington dc, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  daniel.ryan@dc.gov
Sean Rafferty, Pennsylvania Sea Grant
Address:
301 Peninsula Drive, Suite 3
Erie, Pennsylvania 16505

Email:  srafferty@psu.edu
Wendy Stuart, Wide Net Project
Address:
2319 Peggy Lane
Silver spring, Maryland 20910

Email:  wendy@widenetproject.org
Tim Suhgrue, Congressional Seafood
Address:
7775 Chesapeake Bay Ct
Jessup, Maryland 20794

Email:  tim@congressionalseafood.com
Barbara Dwyer, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Address:
-
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20250

Email:  barbara.dwyer@usda.gov
Cathy Liu, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
7998 Regents Drive
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  cathyliu@umd.edu
Stone Slade, Maryland Department of Agriculture
Address:
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  stone.slade@maryland.gov
Robert Gray, Pamunkey Tribe
Address:
-
West point, Virginia 23086

Email:  robert.gray@pamunkey.org
Pat Welsh, Reliant Fish Company
Address:
7901 Oceano Avenue
Jessup, Maryland 20794

Email:  pwelsh@reliantfish.com
Mike Bednarski, Chief of Fisheries, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
P.O. Box 90778
Henrico, Virginia 23228

Email:  Mike.Bednarski@dgif.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 367-6878
Meade Amory, Amory Seafood
Address:
101 S King Street
Hampton, Virginia 23669

Email:  meade@amoryseafood.com
Martin Gary, Potomac River Fisheries Commission
Address:
222 Taylor Street
Colonial beach, Virginia 22443

Email:  martingary.prfc@gmail.com
Phone:  (804) 224-7148
Johnny Moore, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
89 Kings Hwy SW
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  johnny.moore@delaware.gov
Donald Orth, Virginia Tech
Address:
310 West Campus Drive Virginia Tech
, Cheatham Hall, Room 106 (MC 0321)
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

Email:  dorth@vt.edu
David Secor, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
146 Williams Street
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  secor@umces.edu
Chris Moore, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
3663 Marlin Bay Drive
Virginia beach, Virginia 23454

Email:  cmoore@cbf.org
Phone:  (757) 622-1964
Bob Fisher, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  rfisher@vims.edu
Andrea Ostreff, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  aostroff@usgs.gov
Alexa Kretsch, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
380 Fenwick Road
Hampton, Virginia 23651

Email:  alexa.kretsch@mrc.virginia.gov
Andy Lacatell, The Nature Conservancy
Address:
530 E Main St
#800
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  alacatell@tnc.org
Phone:  (804) 644-5800
Robert Fisher, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Post Office Box 1346 1375 Greate Road Gloucester Point, Virginia 23062-1346
Gloucester, Virginia 23062

Email:  rfisher@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7168
Howard Townsend, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
Cooperative Oxford Lab 904 S. Morris Street
Oxford, Maryland 21654

Email:  Howard.Townsend@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 226-5193
Jorge Holzer, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
University of Maryland
2116B Symons Hall
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  jholzer@arec.umd.edu
Pat Geer, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
2600 Washington Avenue
Newport news, Virginia 23607

Email:  pat.geer@mrc.virginia.gov
Steve Minkkinen, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
US FWS Maryland Fishery Resource Office
177 Admiral Cochrane Dr.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  steve_minkkinen@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4506
Troy Tuckey, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1370 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  tuckey@vims.edu
Allison Colden, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
6 Herndon Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  acolden@cbf.org
Christine Densmore, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  cdensmore@usgs.gov
Clint Morgeson, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
7870 Villa Park Drive
Henrico, Virginia 23228

Email:  clinton.morgeson@dgif.virginia.gov
Corbin Hilling, Virginia Tech
Address:
310 West Campus Drive
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

Email:  chilling@vt.edu
Jamie Brunkow, James River Association
Address:
211 Rocketts Way
Richmond, Virginia 23231

Email:  jbrunkow@jrava.org
LW Nixon, Murray L. Nixon Fishery Inc.
Address:
9658 Ban Rd
Hayes, Virginia 23072

Email:  lw@nixonfishery.com
Matt Balazik, Virginia Commonwealth University
Address:
3701 John Tyler Memorial Hwy
Charles city, Virginia 23030

Email:  balazikmt@vcu.edu
Yan Jiao, Virginia Tech
Address:
110 Cheatham Hall
310 W Campus Dr
Blacksburg, Virginia 24060

Email:  yjiao@vt.edu
Mike Ostrander, Charter Captain, Discover the James
Address:
7239 Lookout Drive
Richmond, Virginia 23225

Email:  mike@discoverthejames.com
Rocky Rice, Commercial Fisherman
Address:
-
-, Maryland -

Email:  rrice209@gmail.com
Gary Lengerhuis, Recreational Fisherman
Address:
-
-, Maryland -

Email:  glengerhuis@yahoo.com
Pete Springer, Commercial Fisherman
Address:
-
-, Maryland -

Email:  springer704@gmail.com
Chuck Frederickson, Commercial fisherman
Address:
-
-, Virginia -

Email:  caf.kmf@gmail.com
Bryan King, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
Fisheries and Wildlife Division
1200 First Street, Sixth Floor, #688
Washington d.c., Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  bryan.king@dc.gov
Phone:  (202) 997-9607