Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The Local Leadership Workgroup was established in 2014 after the signing of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement. This workgroup exists to accomplish the local leadership outcome outlined in the Agreement. For more information, visit the local leadership management strategy page.

Subscribe to the Watershed Currents Newsletter: Resources for Local Governments

This bi-monthly newsletter features curated inspirational and informative resources and content for local governments within the Chesapeake Bay watershed region. Check out some past examples of our newsletter below.

Email Address

Projects and Resources

A Local Government Guide to the Chesapeake Bay

A Local Government Guide to the Chesapeake Bay is a seven-module series created to support decision-making by local officials. Local leaders make decisions that set the course for their community and local government actions determine the health and vitality of their jurisdiction, as well as that of local waterways and the Chesapeake Bay. Local officials can achieve mutually beneficial outcomes by prioritizing local economic development, infrastructure resiliency, public health, and education, while also protecting your environment.

Project Materials

Below are links to pdf versions of these materials. For access to editable versions of these files, please email lgac@allianceforthebay.org.

To offer feedback on these modules, please use this survey.

Watershed Currents Newsletter: Resources for Local Governments

Watershed Currents is a bi-monthly curated newsletter that highlights local case studies and provides inspirational and informative resources for local governments and interested parties within the Chesapeake Bay watershed region. Each newsletter will be themed-focused and organized by local priorities impacting local government communities today. Please see below for past editions of the Newsletter:

September 2022: Hazard Mitigation

July 2022: Stream Restoration/Health

May 2022: Trees

March 2022: Stormwater

Publications

View All

Members

Heidi Bonnaffon (Chair), Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Address:
777 North Capitol Street NE
Suite 300
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  hbonnaffon@mwcog.org
Michelle Edward (Vice Chair), Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission
Address:
420 Southridge Pkwy
#106
Culpeper, Virginia 22701

Email:  medwards@rrregion.org
Laura Cattell Noll (Coordinator), Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lnoll@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Phillip Stafford, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  phillip.stafford@maryland.gov
Jim Sullivan, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
100 W. Water Street - Suite 6B
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  James.Sullivan@state.de.us
Mark Hoffman, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mhoffman@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Nancy Nunn, Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology
Address:
Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology, Inc. P.O. Box 169 124 Wye Narrows Drive
Queenstown, Maryland 21658

Email:  nnunn@umd.edu
James Wheeler, Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors (PA)
Address:
4855 Woodland Dr.
Enola, Pennsylvania 17025

Email:  jwheeler@psats.org
Phone:  (717) 763-0930
Andy Fellows, Environmental Finance Center - UMD
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 20736

Email:  afellows@umd.edu
Don Phillips, Local Government Advisory Committee
Address:
205 Turtle Cove
#110
Laurel, Delaware 19956

Email:  hdonpj47@gmail.com
Phone:  (443) 359-1009
Pam Shellenberger, York County (VA)
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  pshellenberger@ycpc.org
Jake Reilly, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Address:
1133 Fifteenth St., N.W., Suite 1100
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20005

Email:  jake.reilly@nfwf.org
Ben Alexandro, Maryland League of Conservation Voters
Address:
30 West St C
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  balexandro@mdlcv.org
Megan Lehman, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market St
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  meglehman@pa.gov
Chris McDonald, Virginia Association of Counties (VA)
Address:
1207 E Main St
#300
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  cmcdonald@vaco.org
Michelle Gowdy, Virginia Municipal League
Address:
13 E Franklin St
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  mgowdy@vml.org
Heidi Bonnaffon, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Address:
777 North Capitol Street NE
Suite 300
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  hbonnaffon@mwcog.org
Pat Calvert, Virginia Conservation Network
Address:
103 E Main St
Suite #1
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  pat@vcnva.org
Martha Narvaez, University of Delaware
Address:
University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware 19716

Email:  mcorrozi@udel.edu
Michelle Edward, Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission
Address:
420 Southridge Pkwy
#106
Culpeper, Virginia 22701

Email:  medwards@rrregion.org
Jen Cotting, Environmental Finance Center - UMD
Address:
7480 Preinkert Drive
Preinkert Hall
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  jcotting@umd.edu
Rick Vilello, Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development
Address:
508 Main Capitol Building
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Email:  rvilello@pa.gov
David Wood, Chesapeake Stormwater Network
Address:
8030 Main St.
Ellicott city, Maryland 21043

Email:  wood.csn@outlook.com
Kate Fritz, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Address:
14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive
Upper marlboro, Maryland 20772

Email:  Katharine.Fritz@ppd.mncppc.org
Phone:  (301) 952-5402
Jennifer Starr, Coordinator, Local Government Advisory Committee
Address:
501 6th St
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  jstarr@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Lauren Townley, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Address:
625 Broadway
Albany, Newyork 12233

Email:  lauren.townley@dec.ny.gov
Phone:  (518) 402-8283
Justin Fiore, Maryland Municipal League (MML)
Address:
1212 West Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  justinf@mdmunicipal.org
Liz Feinberg, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Address:
000
Paoli, Pennsylvania 19301

Email:  liz.feinberg63@gmail.com
Alex Butler, MD Assoc of Counties (MACo), Maryland Association of Counties
Address:
169 Conduit St
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  abutler@mdcounties.org
Edward Knittel, Pennsylvania State Association of Boroughs (PSAB)
Address:
2941 North Front Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  Eknittel@boroughs.org
Jessica Trimble, Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development
Address:
400 North St 4th Floor
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Email:  jtrimble@pa.gov
Justin Williams, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov
John Maleri, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First Street NE
Washington, dc, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  john.maleri@dc.gov