The Management Board, chaired by the Director of the Chesapeake Bay Program, works to provide strategic planning, set priorities and offer operational guidance to the Bay Program, including overseeing the goal implementation teams and implementation of the management strategies.

Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

Provides strategic planning, priority setting, and operational guidance through implementation of a comprehensive, coordinated, accountable implementation strategy for the CBP using the CAP and a management system based on adaptive management principles.

Projects and Resources

Reaching 2025 Report

In October 2022, the Chesapeake Executive Council charged the Principals’ Staff Committee with recommending a critical path forward that prioritized and outlined the next steps for meeting the goals and outcomes of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement leading up to and beyond 2025. The result is Charting a Course to 2025: A Report and Recommendations for the Chesapeake Executive Council on How to Best Address and Integrate New Science and Restoration Strategies Leading Up To 2025. The first version of the report was published on July 22, 2023 and received nearly 200 comments from 19 organizations. The second version was published on November 22, 2023 and the final version was posted on January 17, 2024.

Executive Council Climate Change Directive Workplan

In December 2021, the Management Board discussed a partnership response to the Executive Council Directive No. 21-1 Collective Action for Climate Change. They established a planning team composed of partner representatives to lead development of a workplan for implementing the Directive’s objectives, to be completed by the summer of 2022. This initial workplan represents the collective effort of the planning committee and the contributions of CBP staff and experts. It presents a set of partnership-level actions that, if pursued collaboratively with strong engagement from partners and CBP programs, would accelerate progress in meeting the Directive’s objectives, address critical areas of need, and help lay the necessary groundwork for future action and growth in climate readiness and resiliency in the Chesapeake Bay region.

Strategy Review System

The Strategy Review System (SRS) helps the partnership consistently apply adaptive management to its work toward achieving the outcomes of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement. ChesapeakeDecisions is a tool that promotes transparency and guides the Chesapeake Bay Program’s Goal Implementation Teams and Management Board members through the Strategy Review System.

Management Strategies

Guiding documents for the Chesapeake Bay Program partnership's work to develop, update and adaptively manage the Management Strategies to achieve the outcomes in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement.

View All

Publications

Chesapeake Bay Program Governance Document

This document describes the organizational function and governance for the Chesapeake Bay Program partnership in advancing Bay protection and restoration through the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement signed in 2014.

Download publication

View details

Workgroups and Action Teams

Members

Martha Shimkin (Chair), Director, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  Shimkin.Martha@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-9850
Greg Barranco (Coordinator), Government Affairs, Partnerships Team Lead, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  barranco.greg@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5778
Erin Sonnenburg (Staffer), Environmental Management Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sonnenburge@chesapeake.org
Christine Conn, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  christine.conn@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8785
Anna Killius, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street, Unit 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  AKillius@chesbay.us
Phone:  410-263-3420
Jennifer Pauer, West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
601 57th St. SE
Charleston, West Virginia 25304

Email:  Jennifer.Pauer@wv.gov
Phone:  (304) 926-0499 x1038
Jeffrey Seltzer, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First Street NE
Washington, District of Columbia 20002

Email:  jeffrey.seltzer@dc.gov
Phone:  (202) 535-1603
Lauren Townley, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Address:
625 Broadway
4th Floor
Albany, New York 12233

Email:  lauren.townley@dec.ny.gov
Travis Voyles, Virginia Office of Natural Resources
Address:
Patrick Henry Building 1111 E. Broad Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  travis.Voyles@governor.virginia.gov
Jill Whitcomb, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  jiwhitcomb@pa.gov
Stephen Williams, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
89 Kings Highway
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  stephen.williams@delaware.gov
Daniel Bierly, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Baltimore District
Address:
2 Hopkins Plaza
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Email:  Daniel.m.bierly@usace.army.mil
Katie Brownson, Watershed Specialist, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Katherine.Brownson@usda.gov
Kevin DuBois, U.S. Department of the Navy
Address:
1510 Gilbert Street
Bldg N26, Room 3300
Norfolk, Virginia 23511

Email:  kevin.dubois@navy.mil
Phone:  (757) 341-0424
Jason Dubow, Maryland Department of Planning
Address:
 301 West Preston Street
Suite 1101
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Email:  jason.dubow@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 767-3370
Michelle Hamor, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Address:
803 Front St
Norfolk, Virginia 23510

Email:  michelle.l.hamor@usace.army.mil
Ken Hyer, Associate Chesapeake Bay Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  kenhyer@usgs.gov
Genevieve LaRouche, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Genevieve_LaRouche@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4573
Terron Hillsman, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Address:
John Hanson Business Center
339 Busch's Frontage Road, Suite 301
Annapolis, Maryland 21409

Email:  terron.hillsman@md.usda.gov
Phone:  (410) 757-0861
April Marchese, U.S. Department of Transportation
Address:


Email:  april.marchese@dot.gov
Wendy O'Sullivan, National Park Service (NPS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  wendy_o'sullivan@nps.gov
Phone:  (202) 374-9051
Lisa Quiveors, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Address:
245 Murray Lane SW
Washington, D.C., District of Columbia 20528

Email:  lisa.quiveors@hq.dhs.gov
Kevin Schabow, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S Truman Pkwy
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Kevin.Schabow@noaa.gov
Phone:  (443) 223-3230
Leon Tillman, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Address:
339 Busch's Frontage Road, Suite 301
Annapolis, Maryland 21409

Email:  leon.tillman@usda.gov
Phone:  (443) 875-7169
Daniel Chao, Local Government Advisory Committee
Address:
Ward 2
Washington, District of Columbia 20007

Email:  dschao@gmail.com
Phone:  (202) 689-9745
Charles Herrick, Stakeholders' Advisory Committee
Address:
4504 Warren Street, NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20016

Email:  Ch133@nyu.edu
Larry Sanford, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. Box 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  lsanford@umces.edu
Jessica Blackburn, Stakeholders' Advisory Committee Coordinator, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
612 Hull St Suite 101C
Richmond, Virginia 23224

Email:  jblackburn@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (804) 775-0951
Laura Cattell Noll, Local Government Advisory Committee Coordinator, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
841 Flory Mill Rd
Lancaster, Pennsylvania 17601

Email:  lnoll@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Meg Cole, Coordinator, Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
645 Contees Wharf Rd.
Edgewater, Maryland 21037

Email:  colem@chesapeake.org
Denice Wardrop, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
645 Contees Wharf Rd
Edgewater, Maryland 21037

Email:  CRC-Director@Chesapeake.org
Bill Dennison, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. BOX 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  dennison@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 221-2004
Rachel Felver, Director of Communications, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rfelver@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5740
Gina Hunt, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gina.hunt@maryland.gov
Bill Jenkins, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Email:  jenkins.bill@epa.gov
Phone:  (215) 814-2911
Jeff Lerner, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
Washington, District of Columbia 20460

Email:  lerner.jeffrey@epa.gov
James Martin, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation
Address:
600 E. Main St
Suite 1104
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  james.e.martin@dcr.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 786-2291
Lucinda Power, Branch Chief, Partnerships and Accountability, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  power.lucinda@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5722
Suzanne Trevena, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  trevena.suzanne@epa.gov
Phone:  (215) 814-5701
Julie Reichert-Nguyen, Climate Resiliency Workgroup Coordinator, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  julie.reichert-nguyen@noaa.gov
John Wolf, GIS Team Lead, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  jwolf@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5739