Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

Manage Chesapeake Bay Program (CBP) nontidal water quality monitoring networks and coordinate monitoring and assessment with additional networks to address the new Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement.

The CBP currently manages several water quality monitoring networks including a watershed network. Consistency of station operations across the watershed in the current 123 station network has its foundations in the 2004 Memorandum of Understanding signed by the State of Delaware, the District of Columbia, the State of Maryland, the State of New York, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the Commonwealth of Virginia, the State of West Virginia, the Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin, the Susquehanna River Basin Commission, the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, the United States Environmental Protection Agency, the United States Geological Survey and the Chesapeake Bay Commission regarding cooperative efforts for monitoring and assessing water quality in the streams and rivers of the Chesapeake Bay watershed.

The networks are complex with multiple partners collecting data. There is additional monitoring and analysis that needs to be conducted to address the outcomes of the new Bay Agreement. The Workgroup focuses on 1) sustaining long-term consistency in the network stations distribution and operations, 2) tracking data collection completeness each season on an annual basis, 3) reviewing objectives, 4) evaluating the utility of new sensor applications, 5) updating analysis methods, 6) synthesizing and reporting on nutrient and sediment loads and trends used to assess progress in relation to management actions and target management investments to improve return on investment with best management practices.

Projects and Resources

Interim Guidance for Nontidal Network (NTN) WY2013 Field Blank and Duplicate Sample Collection

INTERIM GUIDANCE FOR NONTIDAL NETWORK WY2013 FIELD BLANK AND DUPLICATE SAMPLE COLLECTION
Draft ­ Jan. 28, 2013

The Nontidal Data Upload and Evaluation Tool (DUET) will include pre‐programmed subroutines to generate
statistical measures of the completeness, precision and bias of nontidal network (NTN) monitoring data. These
statistics will enhance the ability of end users to comprehend, use and defend the data.

Programming for the required or “expected” number and types of water quality (WQ) and quality control
(QC) samples, as originally determined by the Nontidal Workgroup, has been difficult due to: 1)
insufficient detail in the guidance and 2) implementation differences among agencies, such as the
collection of additional WQ samples and different types of QC samples.

Therefore, the following “interim” guidance is intended to overcome these difficulties for the collection
and reporting of WY2013 nontidal data.

Members

Peter Tango (Chair), Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Amy Goldfischer (Staffer), Scientific, Technical Assessment and Reporting (STAR) Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  agoldfischer@chesapeakebay.net
Kristen Heyer, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
1919 Lincoln Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  KHeyer@dnr.state.md.us
Cindy Johnson, STAR Data Integrity Workgroup Chair, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  csjohnson@deq.virginia.gov
Doug Moyer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Dr
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  dlmoyer@usgs.gov
Doug Chambers, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11 Dunbar St.
Charleston, Westvirginia 25301

Email:  dbchambe@usgs.gov
Durga Ghosh, Quality Assurance Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  dghosh@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5750
Mike Mallonee, Water Quality Data Manager, Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin (ICPRB)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mmallone@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5785
Tom Parham, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  tparham@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8633
Amanda Shaver, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
1111 East Main St
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov
Brittany Sturgis, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
285 Beiser Boulevard
Suite 102
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  brittany.sturgis@delaware.gov
Phone:  (302) 739-9922
Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  cfried@vims.edu
Greg Pond, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1060 Chapline St Suite 303
Wheeling, Westvirginia 26003

Email:  Pond.Greg@epa.gov
Joel Blomquist, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
8600 LaSalle Rd
Towson, Maryland 21204

Email:  jdblomqu@usgs.gov
Phone:  (443) 498-5560
Ken Hyer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Dr
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  kenhyer@usgs.gov
Lee McDonnell, Branch Chief, Science, Analysis and Implementation Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  mcdonnell.lee@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5731
Lucretia Brown, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
51 N Street NE
5th Floor
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  lucretia.brown@dc.gov
Mark Nardi, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
5522 Research Park Dr
Catonsville, Maryland 21228

Email:  mrnardi@usgs.gov
Scott Phillips, Chesapeake Bay Science Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  swphilli@usgs.gov
Phone:  (443) 498-5552
Alyssa Thornton, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1730 East Parham Road
Richmond, Virginia 23228

Email:  amthornton@usgs.gov
Andrew Kirk, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
1111 E Main St
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  andrew.kirk@deq.virginia.gov
Andrew Gavin, Susquehanna River Basin Commission (SRBC)
Address:
4423 N Front St
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  agavin@srbc.net
Anthony Tallman, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1289 McD Drive
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  atallman@usgs.gov
Christopher Lewis, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1289 McD Drive
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  crlewis@usgs.gov
Curtis Schreffler, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
215 Limekiln Road
New cumberland, Pennsylvania 17070

Email:  clschref@usgs.gov
Dustin Shull, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Waterfront Dr,
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania 15222

Email:  dushull@pa.gov
Ellyn Campbell, Susquehanna River Basin Commission (SRBC)
Address:
4423 N Front St
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  ecampbell@srbc.net
James Colgin, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
215 Limekiln Road
New cumberland, Pennsylvania 17070

Email:  jcolgin@usgs.gov
James Shallenberger, Susquehanna River Basin Commission (SRBC)
Address:
4423 N Front St
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  jshallenberger@srbc.net
Jon Dillow, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
5522 Research Park Drive
Catonsville, Maryland 21228

Email:  jjdillow@usgs.gov
Julie Wandling, West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, Westvirginia 25304

Email:  Julie.A.Wandling@wv.gov
Kristen Heyer, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  kristen.heyer@maryland.gov
Matthew Stover, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Blvd
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  matthew.stover@maryland.gov
Mark Gress, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  magress@usgs.gov
Mark Brickner, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market St
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  mbrickner@pa.gov
Tammy Zimmerman, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
215 Limekiln Road
New cumberland, Pennsylvania 17070

Email:  tmzimmer@usgs.gov