Boater tossing a batch of live blue crabs back into the water.
The Sustainable Fisheries GIT aims to maintain a sustainable blue crab population. Photo by Will Parson/Chesapeake Bay Program

The Sustainable Fisheries Goal Implementation Team works to support the effective management and recovery of Chesapeake Bay species using ecosystem-based science to inform fishery management decisions that cross state boundaries.

Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The Sustainable Fisheries Goal Implementation Team (GIT) is composed of state fisheries managers from around the Bay and chaired by the director of the NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office. The Sustainable Fisheries GIT draws together a diverse group of managers and scientists to coordinate and facilitate improved management of blue crab and recovery of oysters, while promoting considerations of fish habitat and forage for key managed species like menhaden, striped bass and alosines. The GIT focuses on advancing ecosystem-based fisheries management by using science to make informed fishery management decisions that cross state boundaries.

Through this approach, the Sustainable Fisheries GIT plays a role in sustainable management and policy decisions for Chesapeake Bay fish populations, which support valuable recreational and commercial fisheries, and provide for natural ecosystem function.

Institutions represented on the Sustainable Fisheries GIT include state management agencies, federal agencies, non-profits and academic institutions. Core members form an Executive Committee that meet quarterly. The full GIT membership meets in-person twice per year, typically June and December.

Projects and Resources

Sustainable Fisheries GIT Winter 2022 Meeting Summary

Invasive Catfish Policy Adoption Statement

The Sustainable Fisheries Goal Implementation Team Executive Committee has concluded that the potential risk posed by blue catfish and flathead catfish on native species warrants action to examine potential measures to reduce densities and limit range expansion, and to evaluate possible negative ecological impacts.

Oyster Restoration Success Metrics

Executive Order 13508 Strategy for Protecting and Restoring the Chesapeake Bay Watershed established a goal of restoring oyster populations in 20 tributaries of Chesapeake Bay by 2025, further adding to the need to develop clear restoration goals, quantitative metrics and assessment protocols. This document represents an effort by state and federal agencies directly involved in oyster restoration in the Bay to develop clear and consistent objectives, definitions, sampling protocols and assessment techniques pursuant to achieving this goal and evaluating success.

Publications

2021 Blue Crab Advisory Report

Annual report published by the Chesapeake Bay Stock Assessment Committee that summarizes the results of the Winter Dredge Survey and harvest information, and provides management advice for the jurisdictions based on stock status.

Download publication

View details
View All

Watershed Agreement

Workgroups and Action Teams

Members

Sean Corson (Chair), NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sean.corson@noaa.gov
Martin Gary (Vice Chair), Potomac River Fisheries Commission
Address:
222 Taylor Street
Colonial beach, Virginia 22443

Email:  martingary.prfc@gmail.com
Phone:  (804) 224-7148
Bruce Vogt (Coordinator), Sustainable Fisheries Coordinator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Mandy Bromilow (Staffer), Fishery Program Analyst at NCBO, ERT, Inc.
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mandy.bromilow@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5667
Justin Shapiro (Staffer), Sustainable Fisheries Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  justin.shapiro@noaa.gov
Adrienne Kotula, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Akotula@chesbay.us
Andy Lacatell, The Nature Conservancy
Address:
530 E Main St
#800
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  alacatell@tnc.org
Phone:  (804) 644-5800
Ann Swanson, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  aswanson@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Bob Beal, Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
Address:
1050 North Highland Street
Suite 200 A-N
Arlington, Virginia 22201

Email:  rbeal@asmfc.org
Bryan King, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
Fisheries and Wildlife Division
1200 First Street, Sixth Floor, #688
Washington d.c., Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  bryan.king@dc.gov
Phone:  (202) 997-9607
Chris Moore, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
3663 Marlin Bay Drive
Virginia beach, Virginia 23454

Email:  cmoore@cbf.org
Phone:  (757) 622-1964
Daniel Ryan, DC Division of Fish and Wildlife
Address:
District Department of the Environment
1200 First Street NE
Washington dc, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  daniel.ryan@dc.gov
Donald Orth, Virginia Tech
Address:
310 West Campus Drive Virginia Tech
, Cheatham Hall, Room 106 (MC 0321)
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

Email:  dorth@vt.edu
Edna Stetzar, Delaware Division of Fish & Wildlife
Address:
4876 Hay Point Landing Rd
Smyrna, Delaware 1997

Email:  edna.stetzar@state.de.us
Ellen Cosby, Potomac River Fisheries Commission
Address:
TBD
Tbd, Maryland TBD

Email:  ellen.prfc@verizon.net
Geoffrey Smith, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
Address:
TBD
Tbd, Pennsylvania TBD

Email:  geofsmith@pa.gov
Greg Garman, Virginia Commonwealth University
Address:
P.O. Box 842030
Richmond, Virginia 23284-2030

Email:  ggarman@vcu.edu
Phone:  (804) 828-1562
Jessica Coakley, Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council
Address:
800 North State Street
Suite 201
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  jcoakley@mafmc.org
Jorge Holzer, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
University of Maryland
2116B Symons Hall
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  jholzer@arec.umd.edu
Ken Smith, Virginia Watermen
Address:
92 Teal Way
Heathsville, Virginia 22473

Email:  ken@ksmithre.com
Phone:  (804) 366-2325
Larry Jennings
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  larryjennings@comcast.net
Lynn Fegley, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Maryland Department of Natural Resources Fisheries Service
Tawes State Office Building 580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  lfegley@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8285
Matthew Ogburn, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Address:
647 Contees Wharf Road
Edgewater, Maryland 21037

Email:  ogburnm@si.edu
Mary Fabrizio, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mfabrizio@vims.edu
Mike Bednarski, Chief of Fisheries, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
P.O. Box 90778
Henrico, Virginia 23228

Email:  Mike.Bednarski@dgif.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 367-6878
Pat Geer, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
2600 Washington Avenue
Newport news, Virginia 23607

Email:  pat.geer@mrc.virginia.gov
Patrick Campfield, Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
Address:
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
1050 North Highland Street, Suite 200A-N
Arlington, Virginia 22201

Email:  PCampfield@asmfc.org
Peter Himchak, Omega Protein Corporation, Inc.
Address:
Omega Protein
Fair lawn, Newjersey 07410

Email:  peter.himchak@omegaprotein.com
Robert Fisher, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Post Office Box 1346 1375 Greate Road Gloucester Point, Virginia 23062-1346
Gloucester, Virginia 23062

Email:  rfisher@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7168
Thomas O'Connell, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  toconnell@usgs.gov
Phone:  (304) 724-4401
Tom Ihde, Patuxent Environmental & Aquatic Research Laboratory (PEARL)
Address:
10545 Mackall Road
Saint leonard, Maryland 20685

Email:  thomas.ihde@morgan.edu
Tom Powers, Virginia Blue Crab Management Advisory Committee
Address:
Virginia Crab Management Advisory Committee
311 Hunts Neck Road
Poquoson, Virginia 23662

Email:  powers@jlab.org
Phone:  (757) 784-1351
Kelly Maloney, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  kmaloney@usgs.gov
Troy Tuckey, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1370 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  tuckey@vims.edu
Rochelle Seitz, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1370 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  seitz@vims.edu
Mike Hutt, Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Address:
3530 Mayland Court
Richmond, Virginia 23233

Email:  Mike.Hutt@vdacs.virginia.gov
Michael Seebo, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1370 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mseebo@vims.edu
Louis Plough, UMCES Horn Point Laboratory
Address:
2020 Horns Point Road
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  lplough@umces.edu
Eric Johnson, University of Northern Florida
Address:
1 UNF Drive
Jacksonville, Florida 32224

Email:  e.johnson.147778@unf.edu
Andrea Ostreff, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  aostroff@usgs.gov
Genine McClair, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  genine.mcclair@maryland.gov
Alicia Logalbo, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Norfolk District
Address:
803 Front Street
Norfolk, Virginia 23510

Email:  Alicia.M.Logalbo@usace.army.mil
Alex Aspinwall, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
2600 Washington Avenue
Newport news, Virginia 23607

Email:  alex.aspinwall@mrc.virginia.gov
Alexei Sharov, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Building B2
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ASHAROV@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8288
Alexa Kretsch, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
380 Fenwick Road
Hampton, Virginia 23651

Email:  alexa.kretsch@mrc.virginia.gov
Amy Schueller, National Marine Fisheries Service
Address:
101 Pivers Island Road
Beaufort, Northcarolina 28516

Email:  Amy.Schueller@noaa.gov
Phone:  (252) 838-0815
Daniel Hennen, National Marine Fisheries Service
Address:
TBA
Tba, Massachusetts TBA

Email:  Daniel.Hennen@noaa.gov
Phone:  (508) 495-2000
David O'Brien, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
Gloucester Point (VA) Field Office
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  David.L.O'Brien@noaa.gov
Donna Bilkovic, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Center for Coastal Resources PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  donnab@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7331
Ed Houde, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
146 Williams St
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  ehoude@umces.edu
Gina Hunt, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gina.hunt@maryland.gov
Glenn Davis, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gdavis@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 643-4601
Jim Uphoff, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
904 South Morris St
Cooperative Oxford Laboratory
Oxford, Maryland 21654

Email:  jim.uphoff@maryland.gov
Julie Devers, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  julie_devers@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4508
Kirk Havens, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  kirk@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7386
Lisa Havel, Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
Address:
1050 N Highland Street, Suite 200 A-N
Arlington, Virginia 22201

Email:  lhavel@asmfc.org
Margaret McGinty, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave, D-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  margaret.mcginty@maryland.gov
Mary Groves, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
DNR Inland Fisheries
Rt 4, Box 106E
Brandywine, Maryland 20613

Email:  mgroves@dnr.state.md.us
Michael Wilberg, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  wilberg@umces.edu
Peter Tango, Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 112
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Rebecca LePrell, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
3663 Marlin Bay Dr
Virginia beach, Virginia 23455

Email:  rleprell@cbf.org
Rom Lipcius, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Virginia Institute of Marine Science, PO Box 1348
Andrews Hall 427
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  rom@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7330
Thomas Miller, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
P.O. Box 38
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  miller@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 326-7276
Sarah Widman, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sarah.widman@maryland.gov
David Sikorski, Coastal Conservation Association
Address:
PO Box 309
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  davidsikorski@mac.com
Keith Lockwood, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Address:
803 Front St
Norfolk, Virginia 23510

Email:  Keith.B.Lockwood@usace.army.mil
Ryan Woodland, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
146 Williams Street
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  woodland@umces.edu