Aerial view of a large wetland area
A view of the Nanticoke River looking southwest shows wetlands north of Nanticoke Wildlife Management Area in Wicomico County, Md. Photo by Matt Rath/Chesapeake Bay Program

Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The Wetland workgroup facilitates the implementation of projects that protect, restore, and enhance tidal and non-tidal wetlands across the Chesapeake Bay watershed. Restoration efforts are focused on projects that benefit species requiring high-quality wetland habitats (including American black duck) and incorporate water quality benefits where possible. Additionally, the workgroup coordinates the collection and organization of wetland restoration data reported by the Chesapeake Bay Program.

Projects and Resources

Wetland Co-Benefits Factsheet For Virginia Planners

This factsheet provides resource managers and state planners in Virginia with information on how wetland and living shorelines support the Commonwealth's existing programs and policies. Desicion makers can review the resource to see how wetland protection, restoration and enhance supports plans and initiatives meant for economic development, public health and safety, infrastructure maintainance, and natural benefits.

Publications

View All

Watershed Agreement

Vital Habitats Goal

Members

Pam Mason (Chair), Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Road
P.O. Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mason@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7158
Todd Lutte (Chair), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch St
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  lutte.todd@epa.gov
Katlyn Fuentes (Staffer), Habitat Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  fuentesk@chesapeake.org
Mark Biddle, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
820 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 220
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  mark.biddle@state.de.us
Phone:  (302) 739-9939
Alison Rogerson, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
820 Silver Lake Boulevard
Suite 220
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  Alison.Rogerson@state.de.us
Steve Strano, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Address:
PO Box 269
Laplata, Maryland 20646

Email:  steve.strano@md.usda.gov
Phone:  (443) 482-2928
Denise Clearwater, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
Montgomery Park Business Center
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  dclearwater@mde.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 537-3000
Melissa Yearick, Upper Susquehanna Coalition
Address:
129 West 11th Street
Elmira heights, Newyork 14903

Email:  melissa@u-s-c.org
Phone:  (607) 734-1915
Jeff Jones, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Address:
1606 Santa Rosa Rd
Richmond, Virginia 23229

Email:  Jeffray.Jones@va.usda.gov
Michelle Henicheck, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  michelle.henicheck@deq.virginia.gov
Phone:  (804) 698-4007
Anne Wakeford, West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
Address:
324 Fourth Ave
South charleston, Westvirginia 25303

Email:  anne.m.wakeford@wv.gov
Alana Hartman, West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
22288 Northwestern Pike
Romney, Westvirginia 26757

Email:  alana.c.hartman@wv.gov
Phone:  (304) 822-7266
Amy Jacobs, The Nature Conservancy
Address:
114 S. Washington St.
Easton, Maryland 21601

Email:  ajacobs@tnc.org
Phone:  (443) 521-3034
Rich Mason, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rich_mason@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4584
Jake McPherson, Ducks Unlimited
Address:
109 Shamrock Road
Suite 200
Chester, Maryland 21619

Email:  jmcpherson@ducks.org
Joe Berg, Biohabitats
Address:
2081 Clipper Park Road
Baltimore, Maryland 21211

Email:  jberg@biohabitats.com
Phone:  410.554.0156
Mark Gallagher
Address:
1108 Old York Road
P.O. Box 720
Ringoes, Newjersey 08551

Email:  mgallagher@princetonhydro.com
Alicia Berlin, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12100 Beech Forest Road
Laurel, Maryland 20708

Email:  aberlin@usgs.gov
Phone:  (301) 497-5730
Greg Noe, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Dr
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  gnoe@usgs.gov
Chris Spaur, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Address:
10 S Howard St
Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Email:  christopher.c.spaur@usace.army.mil
Neely Law, Fairfax County (VA)
Address:
12000 Government Center Parkway
Suite 449
Fairfax, Virginia 22035

Email:  Neely.Law@fairfaxcounty.gov
Phone:  (410) 461-8323
Mark Hoffman, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mhoffman@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Jen Dietzen, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First St. NW
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 2002

Email:  jennifer.dietzen@dc.gov
Kevin DuBois, U.S. Department of the Navy
Address:
1510 Gilbert Street
Bldg N26, Room 3300
Norfolk, Virginia 23511

Email:  kevin.dubois@navy.mil
Phone:  (757) 341-0424
Dave Norris, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
Address:
7870 Villa Park Drive
Suite 400 (Villa Park 3)
Henrico, Virginia 23228

Email:  david.norris@dgif.virginia.gov
Jim Feaga, Ducks Unlimited
Address:
310 Fort Cherry Rd
Mcdonald, Pennsylvania 15057

Email:  jfeaga@ducks.org
Jeff Hartranft, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
PA DEP
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  jhartranft@pa.gov
Greg Podniesinski, Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (PA DCNR)
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105

Email:  gpodniesin@pa.gov
Jessica Martinsen, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch St
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  martinsen.jessica@epa.gov
Danielle Algazi, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch St
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  algazi.danielle@epa.gov
Joel Carr, USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Address:
12100 Beech Forest Rd
Laurel, Maryland 20708

Email:  jcarr@usgs.gov
Seth Keller, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Address:
2 Hopkins Plaza
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Email:  seth.d.keller@usace.army.mil
Jenna Mitchell, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 6th St
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  jmitchell@allianceforthebay.org
John Levitsky
Address:
325 Smiths Pond Rd
Shavertown, Pennsylvania 18708

Email:  john@luzcd.org
Sarah Hilderbrand, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave., E-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sarah.hilderbrand@maryland.gov
Alison Santoro, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  alisona.santoro@maryland.gov
Leah Franzluebbers, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Dr
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  leah_franzluebbers@fws.gov
Michelle Campbell, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First Street NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  michelle.campbell@dc.gov
Rachael Peabody, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
380 Fenwick Rd
Hampton, Virginia 23651

Email:  rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov
Phone:  (757) 247-2269
Dave Goerman, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
PO Box 8775
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105

Email:  dgoerma@state.pa.us
Phone:  (717) 772-5971