The Chesapeake Executive Council held its annual meeting on Tuesday, May 12, 2009, at Historic Mount Vernon, Virginia. Executive Council members charted a new course for the Chesapeake Bay’s recovery by setting new short-term goals to reduce pollution to the Bay and dramatically accelerate the pace of restoration.

2009 EC MeetingInstead of pursuing a distant deadline, the seven Bay jurisdictions -- Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Delaware, West Virginia, New York and the District of Columbia -- will now focus on short, two-year goals called milestones. The milestones announced at the 2009 EC meeting are set to be met by December 31, 2011.


  • The rate of progress in reducing nitrogen will accelerate by 77 percent, for a projected reduction of 15.8 million pounds.
  • The rate of progress in reducing phosphorus will increase by 79 percent, for a projected reduction of 1.1 million pounds.

By meeting these and future milestones, the Bay jurisdictions will put in place all pollution control measures necessary for a restored Bay no later than 2025.

The same day as the 2009 EC meeting, President Barack Obama signed an Executive Order that declares the Chesapeake a national treasure and increases the federal commitment to restoring the Bay. The Executive Order includes:

  • Establishing a Bay federal leadership committee
  • Directing EPA to fully use its Clean Water Act authorities
  • Reducing water pollution from federal property
  • Developing a Bay climate change strategy
  • Improving agricultural conservation practices
  • Expanding public access to the Bay

Participating in the 2009 Executive Council meeting were:

  • Governor Timothy M. Kaine, Virginia, and Executive Council Chairman
  • Lisa Jackson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Governor Martin O’Malley, Maryland
  • Jay Jensen, Deputy Undersecretary, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Mayor Adrian Fenty, District of Columbia
  • Delegate John Cosgrove, Chairman, Chesapeake Bay Commission
  • John Hanger, Secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
  • Collin O’Mara, Secretary, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
  • Bill Brannon, Deputy Director, West Virginia Water & Waste Management
  • Navis Bermudez, Associate Director of Federal Policy, Office of the Governor, New York

Video from the 2009 Executive Council meeting

Morning Session

Virginia Governor and Chesapeake Executive Council Chair Timothy M. Kaine explains why Executive Council meetings will now be held in spring.

(Two parts) Chesapeake Bay Program Director Jeff Lape guides the Executive Council through the State of the Bay Program report.

Gov. Kaine recaps the 2008 EC meeting decision to set new short-term Bay restoration goals.

(Two parts) Virginia Assistant Secretary of Natural Resources Jeff Corbin explains the new Chesapeake Bay cleanup milestones.

(Two parts) Bob Koroncai of EPA Region 3 discusses the Chesapeake Bay TMDL.

News Conference

Gov. Kaine announces the new Chesapeake Bay cleanup milestones.

Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley announces other new measures the Executive Council agreed to during its 2009 meeting.

(Two parts) EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson announces President Obama's Chesapeake Bay Executive Order.

USDA Deputy Undersecretary for Natural Resources and Environment Jay Jensen discusses agricultural efforts to restore the Chesapeake Bay, including funding through the Farm Bill and American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

Washington, D.C., Mayor Adrian Fenty discusses urban pollution from Washington, D.C., to the Potomac and Anacostia rivers and the Chesapeake Bay.

Chesapeake Bay Commission Chair John Cosgrove talks about the many ways people can get involved and do their part to restore the Bay.

News Release and Meeting Materials: