The Chesapeake Executive Council announced progress under the first set of Chesapeake Bay cleanup milestones at its annual meeting on July 9 at Gunston Hall, near Lorton, Virginia. They discussed the benefits of this system of short, two-year milestones and how, in the future, it will help partners meet the requirements of the Bay “pollution diet.” The Council also announced the 37 recipients of technical support under the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation’s “Local Government Green Infrastructure Initiative” and elected Mayor Vincent C. Gray of the District of Columbia as its new Chair.

In Attendance:

  • Lisa P. Jackson, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency & Executive Council Chair
  • Governor Martin O’Malley, Maryland
  • Mayor Vincent C. Gray, District of Columbia
  • Senator (Va.) Emmett Hanger, Chair, Chesapeake Bay Commission
  • Kathleen Merrigan, Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Doug Domenech, Secretary of Natural Resources, Virginia
  • Michael Krancer, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection, Pennsylvania
  • Collin O’Mara, Secretary, Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control, Delaware
  • James Tierney, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation, New York
  • Teresa Koon, Assistant Director, Department of Environmental Protection, West Virginia

Event Photographs

News Release and Meeting Materials: