The Citizens Advisory Committee works to advise the leadership of the Chesapeake Bay Program by representing the residents and stakeholders of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed, advocating for transparency and accountability, engagement and education, and evaluation of restoration work.

Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is charged with responsibility for representing residents and stakeholders of the Chesapeake Bay watershed in the restoration effort and advising the Chesapeake Bay Program Partnership on all aspects of Chesapeake Bay restoration. In this role, they have been strong, vocal advocates for increased transparency and accountability, citizens engagement and education and independent evaluation of the restoration work of the Partnership. Members communicate with their constituencies to increase understanding of the Agreement and programs to restore and protect the Bay. The membership is broad-based with representatives from agricultural and homebuilding industries, business, conservation, environmental foundations, law and civic groups. Since 1984, this group has provided a non-governmental perspective on the Bay cleanup effort and on how Bay Program policies and programs affect citizens who live and work in the Chesapeake Bay watershed. The Citizens Advisory Committee is coordinated by staff at the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay, which has coordinated CAC since its inception in 1984.

Citizens Advisory Committee Bylaws - 234 kb .pdf

Projects and Resources

CAC Letters and Position Statements

Reports to the Executive Council

The following are reports that were given to the Chesapeake Executive Council over the years at the annual EC meetings:

Members

Julie Lawson (Chair), Citizen's Advisory Committee, Citizens' Advisory Committee
Address:
6548 Eastern Avenue NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20012

Email:  lawson.julie@gmail.com
Phone:  (202) 347-0412
Ann Jurczyk (Vice Chair), Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
1108 E Main St
Suite 1600
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  ajurczyk@cbf.org
Jessica Blackburn (Coordinator), Coordinator, Citizens Advisory Committee, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
612 Hull St Suite 101C
Richmond, Virginia 23224

Email:  jblackburn@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (804) 775-0951
Alexa Maione (Staffer), Staffer, Citizens Advisory Committee, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
612 Hull Street Road Suite 101C
Richmond, Virginia 23224

Email:  amaione@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (804) 729-6284
Andrew Der, Andrew T. Der & Associates, LLC
Address:
1000 Fell Street, #428
Baltimore, Maryland 21231

Email:  AndrewTDer@comcast.net
Phone:  (410) 491-2808
Verna Harrison, Verna Harrison Associates, LLC
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  VHARRISON@VERNAHARRISON.COM
Phone:  (410) 562-9840
Joseph Maroon, Virginia Environmental Endowment
Address:
12900 Watch Hill Court
Midlothian, Virginia 23114

Email:  jmaroon@vee.org
Phone:  (804) 379-3591
Charlie Stek, Environmental Stewardship Strategies
Address:
18611 Mink Hallow Rd
Highland, Maryland 20777

Email:  charliestek@gmail.com
Phone:  (301) 774-4405
John Dawes, Foundation for Pennsylvania Watersheds
Address:
9697 Loop Rd
Alexandria, Pennsylvania 16611

Email:  rjdawes1@pennsylvaniawatersheds.org
Phone:  (814) 669-4244
Julie Lawson, Citizen's Advisory Committee, Citizens' Advisory Committee
Address:
6548 Eastern Avenue NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20012

Email:  lawson.julie@gmail.com
Phone:  (202) 347-0412
Bill Matuszeski, District of Columbia
Address:
Washington DC
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20007

Email:  bmat@primary.net
Bill Fink, Clemens Food Group
Address:
Clemens Food Group/Country View Family Farms
5714 Raystown Road
Hopewell, Pennsylvania 16650

Email:  wfink@cvff.com
Phone:  (814) 928-4249
Charles Herrick
Address:
4504 Warren Street, NW
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20016

Email:  Ch133@nyu.edu
Anna Killius, James River Association
Address:
211 Rocketts Way
#200
Richmond, Virginia 23231

Email:  amkillius@gmail.com
David Lillard, The Downstream Project
Address:
P.O. BOX 644
Shepherdstown, Westvirginia 25443

Email:  David.Lillard@lillards.com
Mike Lovegreen, Upper Susquehanna Coalition
Address:
183 Corporate Drive
Owego, Maryland 13827

Email:  mike.lovegreen@u-s-c.org
Phone:  (607) 346-2718
Daphne Pee, Citizens' Advisory Committee
Address:
612 Hull Street, Suite 101C
Richmond, Virginia 23224

Email:  dpee1@jh.edu
Brenna Goggin, Leadership Development Manager, River Network
Address:
P.O Box 21387
Boulder, Colorado 80308

Email:  bgoggin@rivernetwork.org
Xavier Brown, Small Parks Specialist, Anacostia Ambassador and C2 Equity Academy Director
Address:
4200 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20008

Email:  xavier.brown@udc.edu
BeKura Shabazz, President & CEO, First Alliance Consulting LLC
Address:
13708 Cedar Cliff Ter.
Chester, Virginia 23831

Email:  firstallianceconsutling@gmail.com
Phone:  (423) 298-0342
Donna Harris-Aikens, Citizens' Advisory Committee
Address:
612 Hull Street, Suite 101C
Richmond, Virginia 23224

Email:  dmha222@gmail.com
Dana Wiggins, Director of the Center for Community Outreach and Affordable Clean Energy Project, Virginia Poverty Law Center
Address:
919 East Main Street
Suite 610
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  dana@vplc.org
Abel Olivo, Executive Director, Defensores De La Cuenca
Address:
3013 Parkway
Cheverly, Maryland 20785-3154

Email:  abel@defensoresdelacuenca.org
Kate Patton, Executive Director
Address:
100 River Street
Snow hill, Maryland 21863

Email:  kpatton@lowershorelandtrust.org
Phone:  (443) 234-5587