Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The Fish Habitat Action Team was formed as a joint effort of the Sustainable Fisheries GIT and the Vital Habitats GIT. This action team will lead the development of the fish habitat management strategy associated with the fish habitat outcome in the new Watershed Agreement. This team will include both fisheries and habitat experts representing from state management agencies, academic institutions, non-profits, and others. In developing the strategy, the team will evaluate current and past efforts to characterize fish habitat in the Chesapeake Bay to determine the highest priority data needs to inform restoration and conservation efforts.

Publications

Recommendations for Conducting Fish Habitat Assessments in Tidal Waters of the Chesapeake Bay

Subject matter experts were consulted through two virtual meetings in October 2020 to provide feedback on the (tidal fish habitat assessment) pilot framework structure: the types of data to apply to the framework, methods to integrate various datasets into the framework, and the types of analysis feasible to conduct using the framework. A robust set of read-ahead materials was developed and delivered to participants prior to the meetings. During the workshops, a large amount of feedback was offered and catalogued.

Download publication

View details
View All

Watershed Agreement

Sustainable Fisheries Goal

Members

Chris Moore (Chair), Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
3663 Marlin Bay Drive
Virginia beach, Virginia 23454

Email:  cmoore@cbf.org
Phone:  (757) 622-1964
Gina Hunt (Coordinator), Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gina.hunt@maryland.gov
Justin Shapiro (Staffer), Sustainable Fisheries Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  justin.shapiro@noaa.gov
Tom Ihde, Patuxent Environmental & Aquatic Research Laboratory (PEARL)
Address:
10545 Mackall Road
Saint leonard, Maryland 20685

Email:  thomas.ihde@morgan.edu
Peter Tango, Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Geoffrey Smith, Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
Address:
TBD
Tbd, Pennsylvania TBD

Email:  geofsmith@pa.gov
Donna Bilkovic, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Center for Coastal Resources PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  donnab@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7331
Edna Stetzar, Delaware Division of Fish & Wildlife
Address:
4876 Hay Point Landing Rd
Smyrna, Delaware 1997

Email:  edna.stetzar@state.de.us
Mary Fabrizio, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mfabrizio@vims.edu
Jessica Coakley, Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council
Address:
800 North State Street
Suite 201
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  jcoakley@mafmc.org
Julie Devers, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  julie_devers@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4508
Lisa Havel, Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
Address:
1050 N Highland Street, Suite 200 A-N
Arlington, Virginia 22201

Email:  lhavel@asmfc.org
Margaret McGinty, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave, D-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  margaret.mcginty@maryland.gov
Pat Geer, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
2600 Washington Avenue
Newport news, Virginia 23607

Email:  pat.geer@mrc.virginia.gov
Kelly Maloney, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Rd
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  kmaloney@usgs.gov
Stephen Faulkner, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  faulkners@usgs.gov
Andrea Ostreff, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11649 Leetown Road
Kearneysville, Westvirginia 25430

Email:  aostroff@usgs.gov
Daniel Ryan, DC Division of Fish and Wildlife
Address:
District Department of the Environment
1200 First Street NE
Washington dc, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  daniel.ryan@dc.gov
Rachael Peabody, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
380 Fenwick Rd
Hampton, Virginia 23651

Email:  rachael.peabody@mrc.virginia.gov
Phone:  (757) 247-2269