Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The Maryland and Virginia Oyster Restoration Interagency Teams are responsible for identifying tributaries for large-scale oyster restoration and developing Oyster Restoration Tributary Plans for each waterway, in consultation with partners and scientists. Workgroup members include representatives from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Baltimore and Norfolk districts, the Oyster Recovery Partnership, state agencies (including the Maryland Department of Natural Resources and the Virginia Marine Resources Commission), local organizations and consulting scientists. These teams are focused on planning restoration and monitoring in the tributaries that have been selected so far for tributary restoration: Harris Creek, Tred Avon, Little Choptank, and St. Marys River in Maryland; Lafayette, Lynnhaven, Piankantank, Great Wicomico, and Lower York River in Virginia.


2020 Maryland Oyster Monitoring Report

This report describes the results of monitoring done from October 2020 through January 2021 on three- and six-year-old restored oyster reefs in Harris Creek, the Little Choptank River, and the Tred Avon River.

Download publication

View details
View All

Watershed Agreement

Sustainable Fisheries Goal


Stephanie Westby (Chair), NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
410 Severn Avenue, Suite 107A
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  stephanie.westby@noaa.gov
Andrew Larkin (Chair), NOAA at Nauticus Project Coordinator [National Marine Fisheries Service], NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
1 Waterside Drive
Norfolk, Virginia 23510

Email:  Andrew.W.Larkin@noaa.gov
Phone:  (757) 627-3823