Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

Update status and trends (indicators) of ecosystem conditions.

Many of the Goal Team and associated WGs have the lead responsibility to update CBP indicators. The STAR will collaborate with the Goal Teams and science providers to ensure updating of the indicators, or plan for additional indicators that are needed for the new Watershed Agreement. The CBP GIS group will oversee compilation and support of spatial data related to the indicators to have it on the CBP website. The STAR will work with the CBP communications team to have the results reported on the CBP website, in ChesapeakeStat, and the annual Bay Barometer. Finally, delivery of status and trends will be enhanced through ChesapeakeStat, which is being redesigned and other data delivery tools.

Projects and Resources

Updating, Adapting & Establishing New Indicators Process Document

This document contains the revised processes for updating existing, adapting existing, and establishing new indicators. These processes were originally discussed at the initial Status and Trends Workgroup meeting on April 7, 2016 and has been revised in March 2022.

Approved CBP Indicators Framework and Management Process November 2015

Purpose and Background

The Chesapeake Bay Program (CBP) Management Board established an Indicators Framework Action Team in May 2015 to align the Indicators Framework with the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement and ensure it supports our adaptive management and communication needs.

Indicators Framework

The Indicators Framework (Framework) is a conceptual model that demonstrates the relationships between indicators and describes how they will be used. The Framework is aligned with the Agreement at the Outcome level and includes the information needed to support and communicate progress towards these outcomes. This model is a mechanism to support external and internal communication.

Publications

Members

Caroline Donovan (Chair), University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
UMCES Annapolis Office
429 4th Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  cdonovan@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 330-3330
Katheryn Barnhart (Coordinator), Indicators Coordinator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  barnhart.katheryn@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-9856
Alex Gunnerson (Staffer), Scientific, Technical Assessment, and Reporting Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  agunnerson@chesapeakebay.net
Doreen Vetter, ChesapeakeStat Project Manager, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  vetter.doreen@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5780
Rachel Felver, Director of Communications, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rfelver@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5740
Breck Sullivan, Scientific, Technical Assessment & Reporting Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  bsullivan@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5788
Peter Tango, Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Kaitlyn May, Web Content Specialist, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  kmay@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 267-5734
Angie Wei, Geospatial Analyst, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  zwei@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5735
Qian Zhang, Data Analyst, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  qzhang@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5794
Bruce Vogt, Ecosystem Science Manager, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Sally Claggett, Program Coordinator, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 209
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sclaggett@fs.fed.us
Phone:  (410) 267-5706
Julie Mawhorter, Mid-Atlantic Urban and Community Forestry Coordinator, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
151 Grey Towers Dr.
Milford, Pennsylvania 18337

Email:  julie.mawhorter@usda.gov
Phone:  (570) 296-9626
Lucinda Power, Implementation and Evaluation Team Leader, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  power.lucinda@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5722
Greg Allen, Environmental Scientist, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  allen.greg@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5746
Amy Handen, Local Implementation Programs Coordinator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  handen.amy@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5793
Shannon Sprague, Education Workgroup Coordinator, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  shannon.sprague@NOAA.GOV
Phone:  (410) 267-5664
Chris Guy, Habitat Goal Implementation Team Coordinator, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  chris_guy@fws.gov
Gina Hunt, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gina.hunt@maryland.gov
Peter Claggett, Research Geographer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  pclagget@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5771
Emily Majcher, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
5522 Research Park Drive
Baltimore, Maryland 21228

Email:  emajcher@usgs.gov
Phone:  443-498-5520
Renee Thompson, Healthy Watersheds Goal Implementation Team Coordinator and Geographer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rthompso@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5749
Laura Cattell Noll, Local Leadership Workgroup Coordinator, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lnoll@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Jackie Kramer, National Park Service (NPS)
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Suite 314
Annaoplis, Maryland 21403

Email:  Jackie_Kramer@nps.gov
Phone:  (717) 792-0556
Julie Reichert-Nguyen, Climate Resiliency Workgroup Coordinator, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
200 Harry S Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  julie.reichert-nguyen@noaa.gov