Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

Manage CBP monitoring networks and coordinate with additional networks to address the new Chesapeake Watershed Agreement.

The CBP currently manages several water-quality monitoring networks including a watershed network and several estuary networks (water quality and SAV). The networks are complex with multiple partners collecting data. There is additional monitoring that needs to be conducted to address the outcomes of the new Bay Agreement. The STAR will work with the CBP Goal Teams to assess existing networks or identify gaps that can be utilized to assess the new outcomes.

The use of Citizen monitoring will be examined to help meet the expanded monitoring needs and applied as appropriate. STAR has begun the process to assess monitoring designs and coordination through the Building And Sustaining Integrated Networks (BASIN) process. The initial work is to evaluate the water-quality networks, followed by assessing options to address monitoring needed for outcomes in the new Bay Agreement.

Projects and Resources

View All

Publications

Methods and Quality Assurance for Chesapeake Bay Water Quality Monitoring Programs

The purpose of this document is to provide field and laboratory methods and associated quality control requirements for use in Chesapeake Bay water quality monitoring programs, which will result in the generation of known and comparable data quality. State agency staff or subcontractors will conduct field measurements and collect and analyze water and sediment samples for specific physical, chemical and biological parameters according to the procedures in this document.

Conformance with these procedures provides a solid foundation for a wide variety of scientific and management investigations, e.g., attainment of water quality standards, characterization of the health of the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries, evaluation of long-term trends, effectiveness of management actions, ecosystem processes and water quality model development and calibration.

Download publication

View details

Workgroups and Action Teams

Members

Peter Tango (Coordinator), Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Amy Goldfischer (Staffer), Scientific, Technical Assessment and Reporting (STAR) Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  agoldfischer@chesapeakebay.net
Eva Bailey, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
One Williams Street
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  bailey@CBL.UMCES.EDU
Peter Tango, Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Breck Sullivan, Scientific, Technical Assessment & Reporting Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  bsullivan@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5788
Karl Blankenship, Bay Journal
Address:
619 Oakwood Dr.
Seven valleys, Pennsylvania 17360

Email:  bayjournal@earthlink.net
Phone:  (717) 428-2819
Mark Brush, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Glouchester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  brush@vims.edu
Claire Buchanan, Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin (ICPRB)
Address:
30 West Gude Dr. Suite 450
Rockville, Maryland 20850

Email:  cbuchan@icprb.org
Phone:  (301) 984-1908 x112
Ben Cole, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  BCole@DNR.STATE.MD.US
Dan Dauer, Old Dominion University (ODU)
Address:
5115 Hampton Blvd
Norfolk, Virginia 23508

Email:  ddauer@ODU.edu
Bill Dennison, STAR, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. BOX 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  dennison@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 221-2004
Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  cfried@vims.edu
Rebecca Golden, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rebecca.golden@maryland.gov
Carlton Haywood, Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin (ICPRB)
Address:
51 Monroe St
Suite PE-08
Rockville, Maryland 20850

Email:  chaywood@icprb.org
Phone:  (301) 984-1908 x105
William Hunley, Hampton Roads Sanitation District
Address:
Technical Services Division
PO Box 5911
Virginia beach, Virginia 23471

Email:  whunley@hrsd.com
Phone:  (757) 460-4252
Fred Irani, Geographer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  firani@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9845
Renee Karrh, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rkarrh@DNR.STATE.MD.US
Heath Kelsey, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
1401 Constitution Avenue, NW Room 5128
Washington dc, Districtofcolumbia 20230

Email:  Heath.Kelsey@NOAA.gov
Richard Lacouture
Address:
1700 East Cold Spring Lane
Baltimore, Maryland 21251

Email:  Richard.Lacouture@morgan.edu
Jurate Landwehr, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  jmlandwe@usgs.gov
Michael Lane, Old Dominion University (ODU)
Address:
5115 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, Virginia 23529

Email:  mflane@odu.edu
Roberto Llanso, Versar
Address:
9200 Rumsey Rd # 100
Columbia, Maryland 21046

Email:  rllanso@versar.com
Mike Mallonee, Water Quality Data Manager, Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin (ICPRB)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mmallone@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5785
Bruce Michael, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Bldg., C-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  bmichael@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8627
Ken Moore, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  moore@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7484
Andrew Muller, U.S. Naval Academy
Address:
121 Blake Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21402

Email:  amuller@usna.edu
Diana Muller, South River Federation
Address:
2830 Solomons Island Rd, Suite A
Edgewater, Maryland 21037

Email:  riverkeeperdiana@southriverfederation.net
Marcia Olson, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
410 Severn Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  Molson@chesapeake.net
Tom Parham, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
Tawes State Office Building
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  tparham@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8633
Bob Paul, St. Mary's College of Maryland
Address:
18952 E. Fisher Rd
St. mary's city, Maryland 20686-3001

Email:  rwpaul@smcm.edu
Elgin Perry, Independent Consultant
Address:
410 Severn Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  eperry@chesapeake.net
Scott Phillips, Chesapeake Bay Science Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  swphilli@usgs.gov
Phone:  (443) 498-5552
Sara Powell, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
904 S Morris St
Oxford, Maryland 21654

Email:  sara.powell@NOAA.gov
Tish Robertson, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  tlrobertson@deq.virginia.gov
Bill Romano, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Tawes State Office Buidling, D-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  bromano@dnr.state.md.us
Gary Shenk, Hydrologist, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  gshenk@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 507-2681
Brian Smith, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  brsmith@dnr.state.md.us
Jen Stanhope, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  jwu@vims.edu
Cathy Wazniak, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  cwazniak@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8638
Caroline Donovan, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
UMCES Annapolis Office
429 4th Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  cdonovan@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 330-3330
Mark Trice, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mtrice@dnr.state.md.us
Bob Wood, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
904 South Morris Street
Oxford, Maryland 21654

Email:  bob.wood@noaa.gov
Donald Smith, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  donald.smith@deq.virginia.gov
Simon Costanzo, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. Box 775
2020 Horns Point Rd
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  scostanzo@umces.edu
Jonathan Kellogg, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
904 S. Morris Street
Oxford, Maryland 21654

Email:  jkellogg@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 226-5193
Jennifer Gundersen, Environmental Indicators Program Coordinator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
410 Severn Ave., Suite 112
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  gundersen.jennifer@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5711
Joel Blomquist, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
8600 LaSalle Rd
Towson, Maryland 21204

Email:  jdblomqu@usgs.gov
Phone:  (443) 498-5560
Dan Boward, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  dboward@dnr.state.md.us
Carin Bisland, Branch Chief, Partnerships and Accountability Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  bisland.carin@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5732
Lucretia Brown, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
51 N Street NE
5th Floor
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  lucretia.brown@dc.gov
Doug Chambers, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
11 Dunbar St.
Charleston, Westvirginia 25301

Email:  dbchambe@usgs.gov
Peter Claggett, Research Geographer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  pclagget@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5771
Sally Claggett, Program Coordinator, U.S. Forest Service (USFS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Suite 209
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sclaggett@fs.fed.us
Phone:  (410) 267-5706
Wayne Davis, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103-2029

Email:  Davis.Wayne@epamail.epa.gov
Chris Eng, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
4401 North Fairfax Drive
ARLSQ 840
Arlington, Virginia 22203

Email:  Chris_eng@fws.gov
Richard Eskin, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Blvd
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  reskin@mde.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 537-3691
Michelle Everson, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  michelle_eversen@fws.gov
Sherm Garrison, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Tawes State Office Bldg., D-2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  sgarrison@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8624
Andy Gavin, Susquehanna River Basin Commission (SRBC)
Address:
1721 North Front Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17102

Email:  agavin@srbc.net
George Harman, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Blvd.
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  gharman@mde.state.md.us
Robert M. Hirsch, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, Virginia 20191

Email:  rhirsch@usgs.gov
Ken Hyer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Dr
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  kenhyer@usgs.gov
Cindy Johnson, STAR Data Integrity Workgroup Chair, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  csjohnson@deq.virginia.gov
Bryan King, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
Fisheries and Wildlife Division
1200 First Street, Sixth Floor, #688
Washington d.c., Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  bryan.king@dc.gov
Phone:  (202) 997-9607
Ron Klauda, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rklauda@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8615
Mike Langland, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
215 Limekiln Road
New cumberland, Pennsylvania 17070

Email:  langland@usgs.gov
Jackie Lendrum, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Address:
625 Broadway
Albany, Newyork 12233

Email:  Jacqueline.lendrum@dec.ny.gov
Phone:  (518) 402-8086
Elizabeth Maclin, Trout Unlimited
Address:
1300 N. 17th St.
Suite 500
Arlington, Virginia 22209-2404

Email:  EMaclin@tu.org
Kevin McGonigal, Susquehanna River Basin Commission (SRBC)
Address:
1721 North Front Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17102

Email:  kmcgonigal@srbc.net
Larry Merrill, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  merrill.larry@epamail.epa.gov
Phone:  (215) 814-5452
Leopoldo Miranda, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  leopoldo_miranda@fws.gov
Phone:  (410) 573-4573
Matt Monroe, West Virginia Department of Agriculture-Regulatory and Environmental Affairs Division
Address:
60B Moorefield Industrial Park Rd
Moorefield, Westvirginia 26836

Email:  mmonroe@wvda.us
Phone:  (304) 538-2397
Doug Moyer, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
12201 Sunrise Valley Dr
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  dlmoyer@usgs.gov
Andrea Nagel, Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin (ICPRB)
Address:
51 Monroe Street
Suite PE-08
Rockville, Maryland 20850

Email:  anagel@icprb.org
Charles Poukish, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Boulevard
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  cpoukish@mde.state.md.us
Tony Shaw, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
Rachel Carson State Office Building
400 Market St.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  tshaw@state.pa.us
Tony Prochaska, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  TProchaska@dnr.state.md.us
Molly Pulket, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
Rachel Carson State Office Building
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  mpulket@state.pa.us
Adam Rettig, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Boulevard
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  ARettig@mde.state.md.us
Bill Richardson, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103-2029

Email:  Richardson.William@epamail.epa.gov
Mark Secrist, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Drive
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mark_secrist@fws.gov
Rick Shertzer, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
3310 Market Street Suite A
Camp hill, Pennsylvania 17011

Email:  rshertzer@state.pa.us
Nicoline Shulterbrandt, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
51 N St., NE
5th Floor
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  nicoline.shulterbrandt@dc.gov
Shatika Starks, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch St.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103-2029

Email:  starks.shatika@epamail.epa.gov
Rich Starr
Address:
8088 Centre Park Drive
Suite 205
Columbia, Maryland 21044

Email:  rstarr@eprusa.net
Phone:  (410) 980-7374
Roger Stewart, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  Roger.Stewart@deq.virginia.gov
Scott Stranko, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Tawes State Office Building C2
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  scott.stranko@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8603
Bruce Vogt, Ecosystem Science Manager, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Parkway Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bruce.Vogt@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5655
Don Weller, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Address:
647 Contees Wharf Road
Edgewater, Maryland 21037-0028

Email:  wellerd@si.edu
Amy Williams, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
Rachel Carson State Office Building
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  amywilli@state.pa.us
John Wirts, West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, Westvirginia 25304

Email:  John.C.Wirts@wv.gov
Amy Wolfe, Trout Unlimited
Address:
1300 N. 17th St.
Suite 500
Arlington, Virginia 22209-2404

Email:  awolfe@tu.org
Lori Brown, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
100 W. Water Street
Suite 10B
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  lorim.brown@state.de.us
Phone:  (302) 672-1148
Bhanu Paudel, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
285 Beiser Boulevard
Suite 102
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  bhanu.paudel@delaware.gov
Phone:  302-739-9939