Text Size: A  A  A

Communications Workgroup

Scope and Purpose

The Communications Workgroup provides leadership for the Chesapeake Bay Program (CBP) Communications Office in terms of strategic planning and expert communications advice that best supports that office in meeting its goals of:

  1. supporting the communication needs of the CBP partners, and
  2. spurring public action through consistent messaging, expanded media coverage, use of multimedia and online tools, comprehensive branding and promotion, outreach to stakeholders, and coordinated internal and external communications. 

Additionally, the workgroup serves in an advisory capacity to the various Bay Program subcommittees, committees and workgroups, and in a supportive role for the CBP leadership, providing expert perspective on communications-related issues in both cases.  Lastly, the workgroup provides a forum to discuss Bay-related communications activities, initiatives and issues that cross state and other jurisdictional boundaries, in an effort to better connect CBP science and partners with the public.

  • Bill Hayden (Chair), Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
  • Catherine Krikstan (Vice-Chair), University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)
  • Margaret Enloe (Coordinator), Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Jenna Valente (Staff), Chesapeake Research Consortium

  • Jay Apperson, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
  • Greg Barranco, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Jessica Blackburn, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Cindy Chance, National Park Service (NPS)
  • Kim Couranz, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
  • Margaret Enloe, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Natalie Gardner, Chesapeake Research Consortium
  • Mary Gattis, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Hannah Hamilton, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
  • Samantha Kappalman,
  • Deb Kleiner, Choose Clean Water Coalition
  • Catherine Krikstan, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)
  • Philip Miller, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
  • Leila Mitchell, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Laurie Naismith , Virginia Marine Resources Commission
  • Will Parson, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Amy Pelsinsky, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)
  • Darlene Pisani, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
  • Stephanie Smith , Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Andrew Stacy, West Virginia Conservation Agency
  • Guy Stephens, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)
  • Jenna Valente, Chesapeake Research Consortium
  • Tom Wenz, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • John Wolf, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
  • Kristen Wolf, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
  • Tom Zolper, Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Past Meetings & Events

  • January 8, 2015 - Comm Wkgp Extended Mtg
  • March 8, 2012 - Communications Workgroup
  • January 26, 2012 - Communications Annual Meeting
  • November 13, 2008 - Communications Workgroup Meeting
  • September 11, 2008 - Communications Workgroup Mtg
  • November 14, 2006 - Communications Workgroup
  • January 10, 2006 - Communications Workgroup
  • November 8, 2005 - Communications Workgroup
  • July 26, 2005 - Communications Workgroup
  • June 1, 2005 - Communications Workgroup
  • January 25, 2005 - Communications Workgroup

  • 410 Severn Avenue / Suite 112
    Annapolis, Maryland 21403
    Tel: (800) YOUR-BAY / Fax: (410) 267-5777
    Directions to the Bay Program Office
    Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
    ©2012 Chesapeake Bay Program | All Rights Reserved