Quick Facts

Species Type



True flies range in size from midges of little more than 1 mm to robber flies more than 7 cm long.


Common in humid, moist environments, but can also be found in deserts, forests, mountains, and even polar regions; found in both fresh and saltwater environments such as lakes, ponds, streams, marshes and swamps


Adults feed on plant or animal juices or other insects. 


Varies based on species.

Conservation Status



These insects have one pair of flight wings and a pair of modified hind wings called halteres, which are used for balancing. They have large compound eyes and the antennae are variable depending on the species.


Adults feed on plant or animal juices or other insects.


True flies are eaten by many species of birds, small mammals, frogs and toads.

Reproduction and Life Cycle

The life cycle of a true fly consists of four stages: egg, larva, pupa, and adult. The process and duration of these stages varies based on species.

Did You Know?

  • The word Diptera comes from the Greek di for 'two' and ptera for 'wings.
  • The creatures serve as an abundant food source for many well-loved species and in many cases are even important pollinators.

Sources and Additional Information