2020 Executive Council Meeting

2020 Executive Council Meeting Download

On Tuesday, August 18, 2020, the Chesapeake Executive Council will hold a public meeting and press event during which they will set goals and provide guidance for the Chesapeake Bay Program. The council, established by the Chesapeake Bay Agreement of 1983, meets on an annual basis.

During the meeting, the council will announce the adoption of a diversity, equity, inclusion and justice statement for the Chesapeake Bay Program and hear remarks from Dr. Janice Underwood, chief diversity, equity, inclusion and justice officer for the Commonwealth of Virginia. Additionally, members of the Executive Council will have the opportunity to give remarks about how Bay restoration can be used to address challenges they are facing as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. More detailed information can be found on the 2020 Executive Council meeting website.


  • The Honorable Larry J. Hogan, Jr., Governor, State of Maryland (Executive Council Chair)
  • The Honorable Ralph S. Northam, Governor, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • The Honorable Gene Yaw, Chair, Chesapeake Bay Commission
  • The Honorable Douglas Benevento, Associate Deputy Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
  • The Honorable Austin Caperton, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection, State of West Virginia
  • The Honorable Shawn Garvin, Secretary, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, State of Delaware
  • The Honorable Patrick McDonnell, Secretary, Department of Environmental Protection, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
  • The Honorable Basil Seggos, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation, State of New York
  • The Honorable Tommy Wells, Director, Department of Energy and Environment, District of Columbia


Tuesday, August 18, 2020 from 1:00 p.m.- 2:00 p.m. ET



(meeting room will open 15 minutes prior to the start of the meeting)

Media RSVP by August 14, 2020