The Communications Workgroup works to provide strategic planning and expert advice to the Bay Program Communications Office and to support the communications needs of Bay Program partners, ensuring accurate and timely reporting of Bay health.

Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The Communications Workgroup offers communications advice to the Chesapeake Bay Program's Communications Office in order to help this office meet its goals of:

  1. Supporting the communications needs of Bay Program partners, and
  2. Spurring public action through consistent messaging and media coverage, comprehensive branding and promotion, stakeholder outreach, and coordinated internal and external communications.

The workgroup also advises various subcommittees, committees and workgroups and offers support to Bay Program leadership by providing expert perspective on communications-related issues. Lastly, the workgroup provides a forum to discuss Bay-related communications activities, initiatives and issues that cross jurisdictional boundaries in an effort to better connect Bay Program science and partners with the public.

Projects and Resources

Communications Workgroup Charter

The Communications Workgroup charter states that the purpose of the workgroup is threefold:

  1. To foster cross-jurisdictional communication among Chesapeake Bay Program partners by providing a collaborative forum to discuss communications issues, meet communications needs and conduct public relations with the media, the public and other critical audiences
  2. To provide expert advice and recommendations when asked to address the communications needs of Chesapeake Bay Program groups (including the Chesapeake Executive Council, Principals’ Staff Committee or Management Board; Advisory Committees; Goal Implementation Teams; workgroups, committees and subcommittees; and Chesapeake Bay Program leadership)
  3. To provide professional guidance to the Chesapeake Bay Program’s Communications Office in support of its mission to support and communicate the policy, science and data of the Chesapeake Bay Program through media outreach, web- and print-based products, high-quality multimedia, an established and consistent brand, targeted messaging and collaboration and engagement with stakeholders around the watershed.

Publications

View All

Related Links

Google Group

This group is meant to be a place where CBP Communication Workgroup members can keep in contact with each other between meetings, ask questions, solicit input and share resources.

Visit link

Webinar: Intro to Community-Based Social Marketing

This one-hour webinar provides an overview of the community-based social marketing process. It was produced as part of a GIT-funded project between the Communications and Stewardship Workgroups.

Visit link

Webinar: Behavior Selection

This webinar provides a closer look at the Behavior Selection step of the CBSM process. It was produced as part of a GIT-funded project between the Communications and Stewardship Workgroups.

Visit link

Webinar: Barrier/Benefit Research

This webinar provides a closer look at the Barrier/Benefit Research step of the CBSM process. It was produced as part of a GIT-funded project between the Communications and Stewardship Workgroups.

Visit link

Webinar: Strategy Development

This webinar provides a closer look at the Strategy Development step of the CBSM process. It was produced as part of a GIT-funded project between the Communications and Stewardship Workgroups

Visit link

Webinar: Pilot Testing

This webinar provides a closer look at the Pilot Testing step of the CBSM process. It was produced as part of a GIT-funded project between the Communications and Stewardship Workgroups

Visit link

Webinar: Wetlands

In this webinar, a panel of experts discussed challenges impacting wetlands and what’s being done to save them

Visit link

Workgroups and Action Teams

Members

Gregg Bortz (Chair), Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave., D-4
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Gregg.Bortz1@Maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8001
Rachel Felver (Coordinator), Director of Communications, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rfelver@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5740
Marisa Baldine (Staffer), Communications Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  baldinem@chesapeake.org
Greg Barranco, Government Affairs, Partnerships Team Lead, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  barranco.greg@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5778
Kim Couranz, NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  kim.couranz@noaa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5673
Jody Couser, Chesapeake Conservancy
Address:
716 Giddings Ave.
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  jcouser@chesapeakeconservancy.org
Phone:  (443) 703-8678
Tom Damm, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  damm.thomas@epa.gov
Phone:  (215) 814-5560
Michelle DiNicola, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  mdinicola@pa.gov
Philip Miller, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
89 Kings Highway
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  Philip.Miller@state.de.us
Christina Novak, Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (PA DCNR)
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105

Email:  cnovak@pa.gov
Will Parson, Multimedia Manager, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  wparson@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9848
Amy Pelsinsky, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. BOX 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  apelsinsky@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 330-1389
Kristin Saunders, Cross Program Coordinator, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ksaunders@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 267-5711
Jennifer Starr, Coordinator, Local Government Advisory Committee, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 6th St
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  jstarr@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Shannon Powers, Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Address:
2301 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  shpowers@pa.gov
Phone:  (717) 783-2628
Davin White, West Virginia Conservation Agency
Address:
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Charleston, Westvirginia 25305

Email:  dwhite@wvcawvca.onmicrosoft.com
Aaron Ferster, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1200 Pennsylvania Ave, N.W.
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20460

Email:  ferster.aaron@epa.gov
Melissa Diemand, Potomac Conservancy
Address:
8403 Colesville Rd
#805
Silver spring, Maryland 20910

Email:  diemand@potomac.org
Medessa Burian, Environmental Finance Center - UMD
Address:
7480 Preinkert Drive
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  msburian@umd.edu
Trevor Manning, U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)
Address:
1510 Gilbert St
Bldg. N26
Norfolk, Virginia 23511

Email:  trevor.a.manning@navy.mil
Melinda Shultz, Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Association
Address:
1000 North Front St
Wormleysburg, Pennsylvania 17043

Email:  shultz@municipalauthorities.org
Molly Rose, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Address:
359 East Park Drive
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17111

Email:  molly.hippensteel@usda.gov
Shannon Wehinger, Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts
Address:
5925 Stevenson Avenue
Suite A
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17112

Email:  swehinger@pacd.org
Kelly Donaldson, Pennsylvania Sea Grant
Address:
301 Peninsula Drive
Erie, Pennsylvania 16505

Email:  ksd144@psu.edu
Michael Bowman, National Park Service (NPS)
Address:
410 Severn Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  mbowman@chesapeakeconservancy.org
Laura Cattell Noll, Local Leadership Workgroup Coordinator, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lnoll@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Ola-Imani Davis, Staffer, Local Government Advisory Committee, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth St
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  odavis@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Lucy Heller, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth St
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lheller@allianceforthebay.org
Kaitlyn May, Web Content Specialist, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  kmay@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 267-5734
Nathan Miller, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
429 4th Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  nmiller@umces.edu
Kelsey Everett, National Park Service (NPS)
Address:
410 Severn Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  keverett@chesapeakeconservancy.org
Lisa Jones, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Blvd
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  lisaa.jones@maryland.gov
Natalia Sanchez, Environmental Finance Center - UMD
Address:
7480 Preinkert Drive
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  nsanchez@umd.edu
Deborah Klenotic, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market Street, 16th floor
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  dklenotic@pa.gov
Phone:  (717) 783-9954
Heidi Bonnaffon, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Address:
777 North Capitol Street NE
Suite 300
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  hbonnaffon@mwcog.org
Jennifer Clarke, Department of Public Utilities, City of Richmond
Address:
900 E. Broad Street, Room 11
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  jennifer.clarke@richmond.gov
Phone:  (804) 646-8131
Jessica Rodriguez, U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)
Address:
1510 Gilbert Street, Building  N26
Norfolk, Virginia 23511

Email:  Jessica.m.rodriguez@navy.mil
Drew Robinson, Choose Clean Water Coalition
Address:
20 Ridgely Avenue, Suite 203
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  RobinsonAQ@nwf.org
Phone:  (443) 927-8049
Brent Peterson, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First St NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  Brent.Peterson@dc.gov
Haley England, Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Address:
2301 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  hengland@pa.gov
Emily Ramirez, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
301 Braddock Rd,
Frostburg, Maryland 21532

Email:  eramirez@umces.edu
Emmy Nicklin, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
6 Herndon Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  ENicklin@cbf.org
Jay Clark, Virginia Sea Grant
Address:
7539 Spencer Rd.
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  jtclark@vaseagrant.org
Tali MacArthur, Pennsylvania Environmental Council
Address:
2009 Cato Ave
State college, Pennsylvania 16801

Email:  tmacarthur@pecpa.org
Jenna Mackley, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
37 East Orange Street
Suite 302
Lancaster, Pennsylvania 17602

Email:  jmackley@allianceforthebay.org
Gregg Bortz, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave., D-4
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Gregg.Bortz1@Maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8001
Jake Solyst, Web Content Specialist, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  jsolyst@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-5702