The Independent Evaluator Action Team helps to initiate the work of the Independent Evaluator—a nationally recognized, independent science organization selected to evaluate the Bay Program—by outlining the IE’s study charge, scope and desired outcome.

Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

To increase the level of accountability and accelerate implementation in the Chesapeake Bay Program (CBP), in November 2008, the Executive Council requested that the CBP be evaluated by a nationally recognized, independent science organization.

An Action Team was formed and held the first meeting in February, 2009. The purpose of the Action Team is to initiate the work of the Independent Evaluator by quickly defining the study charge, scope and desired outcome. The Scope of work developed by the Action Team should identify:

  • the charge to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) expert panel and include the explicit study questions.
  • evaluation metrics that could be used to address the specified study questions; note the expert panel will also be tasked to independently identify evaluation metrics.
  • the review and coordination of evaluation metrics between the expert panel and STAC, the CBP goal teams, and other appropriate partners or advisory committees.
  • expertise required for the IE expert panel.
  • specific deliverables expected from the expert panel.
  • the criteria for acceptance (by EPA for the partnership) of deliverables (from expert panel).
  • the deadline/timeframe for deliverables.

Members

Jeff Horan (Chair), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley, Massachusetts 01035

Email:  jeff_horan@fws.gov
Phone:  (413) 253-8228
Carin Bisland, Branch Chief, Partnerships and Accountability Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  bisland.carin@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5732
Jessica Blackburn, Coordinator, Citizens Advisory Committee, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
612 Hull St Suite 101C
Richmond, Virginia 23224

Email:  jblackburn@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (804) 775-0951
Pat Buckley, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  pbuckley@state.pa.us
Phone:  (717) 772-1675
Angus Eaton, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Address:
625 Broadway
Albany, Newyork 12233

Email:  akeaton@gw.dec.state.ny.us
Phone:  (518) 402-8132
Doug Lipton, Maryland Sea Grant
Address:
University of MD
Symons Hall
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  dlipton@arec.umd.edu
Phone:  (301) 405-1280
Jennifer Pauer, West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
601 57th St. SE
Charleston, Westvirginia 25304

Email:  Jennifer.Pauer@wv.gov
Phone:  (304) 926-0499 x1038
John Schneider, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
89 Kings Highway
Dover, Delaware 19901

Email:  john.schneider@state.de.us
Phone:  (302) 739-9939
Ann Swanson, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  aswanson@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Nikki Tinsley, NT Inc.
Address:
1230 Crummell Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  nikkiltinsley@aol.com
Phone:  (410) 216-9404
Matt Birnbaum, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Address:
1133 Fifteenth St. NW, Suite 1100
Washington, dc, Districtofcolumbia 20005

Email:  matthew.birnbaum@nfwf.org
Phone:  (202) 857-0166
Don Boesch, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science P.O. Box 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  boesch@ca.umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 221-2000
Bill Brannon, West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
WV Dept of Environmental Protection Division of Water & Waste Management, 601 57th St SE
Charleston, Westvirginia 25304

Email:  William.D.Brannon@wv.gov
Phone:  (304) 926-0499
Jeff Corbin, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
US EPA Region 3, 1650 Arch Street (3PM52)
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  corbin.jeffrey@epa.gov
Phone:  (215) 814-2900
Jeff Lape, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Address:
410 Severn Avenue, Suite 109
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lape.jeff@epa.gov
Phone:  (410) 267-5709