Upcoming Meetings

No upcoming meetings.

Scope and Purpose

The SAV Workgroup serves the broader Bay community by guiding managers on the protection and restoration of SAV. The Workgroup carries out its mission by providing technical expertise and applying research findings to issues impacting SAV in the Bay.

Projects and Resources

Chesapeake Bay SAV Restoration Manual and Outreach Materials

The below resources, developed by Green Fin Studios in partnership with the SAV Workgroup, include a Chesapeake Bay SAV Restoration Manual and accompanying outreach materials. This work was funded through the Chesapeake Bay Program Goal Implementation Team (GIT) Funding Program.

Tributary Specific SAV Fact Sheets

The Chesapeake Bay Submerged Aquatic Vegetation (SAV) Synthesis Project brought together experts from the Chesapeake Bay Program (CBP) partnership specializing in SAV, water quality, and land-use research and management. The goal of the project was to conduct a synthesis of multiple long-term datasets to determine what role the growing human population in the Chesapeake Bay watershed has played in influencing SAV distribution and abundance and if the sustained efforts and management actions implemented by the CBP partnership have benefited SAV habitat.

In response to interest from resource managers, local planners, and watershed organizations, the SAV Synthesis Project team conducted segment-specific reviews of SAV trends and progress towards restoration targets and created SAV fact-sheets for each segment. This local-scale segment review aims to provide a summary of information that may guide local planning and implementation of best management practices (BMPs) to encourage SAV recovery throughout the Bay.

The information provided in these fact sheets, along with accompanying data and information linked or referenced, should serve as references and guidance for resource managers and local planners in the identification and implementation of BMPs that benefit SAV recovery in their creeks, tributaries, or jurisdictional areas.

You can access the fact sheets here: https://gis.chesapeakebay.net/sav/

or on our CAST website here: https://cast.chesapeakebay.net/Home/TMDLTracking#SAVReportsSection

SAV Regulatory Review

The below resources, developed by the Chesapeake Legal Alliance in partnership with the SAV Workgroup, include a comprehensive regulatory review for Chesapeake Bay SAV and an accompanying searchable database for CB SAV statutes, regulations, and relevant policies. This work was funded through the Chesapeake Bay Program Goal Implementation Team (GIT) Funding Program.

Social Marketing Campaign to Promote SAV Stewardship

The below resources, developed by Action Research, Inc. in partnership with the SAV and Communications Workgroups, include social marketing materials to promote SAV stewardship. This work was funded through the Chesapeake Bay Program Goal Implementation Team (GIT) Funding Program.

View All

Watershed Agreement

Members

Brooke Landry (Chair), Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Brooke.Landry@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 260-8629
Rebecca Golden (Vice Chair), Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rebecca.golden@maryland.gov
Katlyn Fuentes (Staffer), Habitat Goal Implementation Team Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  fuentesk@chesapeake.org
Alyson Hall, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Rd
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  achall@vims.edu
Amanda Shaver, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
N/A
N/a, Virginia N/A

Email:  amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov
Becky Swerida, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  rebecca.swerida@maryland.gov
Bill Dennison, STAR, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Address:
P.O. BOX 775
Cambridge, Maryland 21613

Email:  dennison@umces.edu
Phone:  (410) 221-2004
Bob Murphy, Tetra Tech
Address:
51 Franklin St # 400
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  Bob.Murphy@tetratech.com
Carl Friedrichs, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
Rt. 1208 Greate Rd.
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062-1346

Email:  cfried@vims.edu
Cassie Gurbisz, St. Mary's College of Maryland
Address:
47645 College Dr
St. mary's city, Maryland 20686

Email:  cbgurbisz@smcm.edu
Chris Adriance, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First St NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  Christopher.adriance@dc.gov
Chris Patrick, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Rd
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  cpatrick@vims.edu
Cindy Johnson, STAR Data Integrity Workgroup Chair, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  csjohnson@deq.virginia.gov
Dave Wilcox, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  dwilcox@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7088
David O'Brien, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
Gloucester Point (VA) Field Office
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  David.L.O'Brien@noaa.gov
Doug Myers, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Address:
6 Herndon Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  DMyers@cbf.org
Richard Zimmerman, Old Dominion University (ODU)
Address:
5115 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, Virginia 23062

Email:  rzimmerman@odu.edu
Phone:  (757) 683-5991
Don Weller, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
Address:
647 Contees Wharf Road
Edgewater, Maryland 21037-0028

Email:  wellerd@si.edu
Enie Hensel, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1735 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  eniehensel@gmail.com
Erin Reilly, James River Association
Address:
211 Rocketts Way # 200
Richmond, Virginia 23231

Email:  ereilly@thejamesriver.org
Erin Shields, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Rd
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  eshields@vims.edu
Jackie Specht, The Nature Conservancy
Address:
425 Barlow Pl #100
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Email:  jackie.specht@tnc.org
Jessie Jarvis, University of North Carolina
Address:
601 S College Rd
Wilmington, Northcarolina 28403

Email:  jessiecjarvis@gmail.com
Robert Orth, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  jjorth@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7392
Jonathan Lefcheck, Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences
Address:
60 Bigelow Dr
East boothbay, Maine 04544

Email:  jlefcheck@bigelow.org
Jonathan Watson, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Address:
200 Harry S. Truman Pkwy
Suite 460
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  jonathan.watson@noaa.gov
Julie Bortz, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  julie.bortz@maryland.gov
Katia Engelhardt, UMCES Appalachian Laboratory
Address:
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, Maryland 21532

Email:  engelhardt@al.umces.edu
Phone:  (301) 689-7140
Kelly Somers, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  Somers.Kelly@epa.gov
Ken Moore, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
PO Box 1346
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  moore@vims.edu
Phone:  (804) 684-7484
Lauren Alvaro, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Rd
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  lealvaro@vims.edu
Lora Harris, UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (CBL)
Address:
146 Williams St
Solomons, Maryland 20688

Email:  harris@cbl.umces.edu
Maile Neel
Address:
6117 Plant Sciences Building
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  mneel@umd.edu
Magdalene Ngeve
Address:
6117 Plant Sciences Building 4291 Fieldhouse Drive
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  magngeve@gmail.com
Marc Hensel, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1375 Greate Rd
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  mjshensel@gmail.com
Mark Lewandowski, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mlewandowski@dnr.state.md.us
Phone:  (410) 260-8634
Mark Luckenbach, Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS)
Address:
1208 Greate Road
Gloucester point, Virginia 23062

Email:  luck@vims.edu
Phone:  (757) 787-5816
Matt Robinson, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 1st St NE
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  matthew.robinson@dc.gov
Megan Fitzgerald, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - Region 3
Address:
1650 Arch Street
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

Email:  fitzgerald.megan@epa.gov
Mike Johnson, Virginia Marine Resources Commission
Address:
380 Fenwick Rd
Hampton, Virginia 23651

Email:  mike.johnson@mrc.virginia.gov
Mike Naylor, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Ave Bldg E3
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mike.naylor@maryland.gov
Phone:  (410) 353-2049
Mike Norman, Anne Arundel Community College
Address:
101 College Pkwy
Arnold, Maryland 21012

Email:  cmnorman@aacc.edu
Nancy Rybicki, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
430 National Center
Reston, Virginia 20192

Email:  nrybicki@usgs.gov
Phone:  (703) 648-5728
Peter McGowan, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS)
Address:
177 Admiral Cochrane Dr.
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  peter_c_mcgowan@fws.gov
Peter Tango, Monitoring Coordinator, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  ptango@chesapeakebay.net
Phone:  (410) 267-9875
Rhianne Cofer, Old Dominion University (ODU)
Address:
5115 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk
Norfolk, Virginia 23529

Email:  rcofer@odu.edu
Stan Kollar, Harford Community College
Address:
401 Thomas Run Road
Belair, Maryland 21015

Email:  skollar@harford.edu
Phone:  (410) 836-4283
Steve Ailstock, Anne Arundel Community College
Address:
101 College Parkway
Arnold, Maryland 21012

Email:  smailstock@mail.aacc.cc.md.us
Phone:  (410) 777-2230
Thomas Arnold, Dickinson College
Address:
28 N College St
Carlisle, Pennsylvania 17013

Email:  arnoldt@dickinson.edu
Tish Robertson, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:
629 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23218

Email:  tlrobertson@deq.virginia.gov
Victoria Hill, Old Dominion University (ODU)
Address:
5115 Hampton Boulevard
Norfolk, Virginia 23529

Email:  vhill@odu.edu
Phone:  (757) 683-4911