Upcoming Meetings

Scope and Purpose

The Local Leadership Workgroup was established in 2014 after the signing of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement. This workgroup exists to accomplish the local leadership outcome outlined in the Agreement. For more information, visit the local leadership management strategy page.

Subscribe to the Watershed Currents Newsletter: Resources for Local Governments

This bi-monthly newsletter features curated inspirational and informative resources and content for local governments within the Chesapeake Bay watershed region.

Sign up for Watershed Currents‍

Projects and Resources

A Local Government Guide to the Chesapeake Bay

A Local Government Guide to the Chesapeake Bay is a seven-module series created to support decision-making by local officials. Local leaders make decisions that set the course for their community and local government actions determine the health and vitality of their jurisdiction, as well as that of local waterways and the Chesapeake Bay. Local officials can achieve mutually beneficial outcomes by prioritizing local economic development, infrastructure resiliency, public health, and education, while also protecting your environment.

Project Materials

Below are links to pdf versions of these materials. For access to editable versions of these files, please email lgac@allianceforthebay.org.

To offer feedback on these modules, please use this survey!

Watershed Currents Newsletter: Resources for Local Governments

Watershed Currents is a bi-monthly curated newsletter that highlights local case studies and provides inspirational and informative resources for local governments and interested parties within the Chesapeake Bay watershed region. Each newsletter will be themed-focused and organized by local priorities impacting local government communities today. Please see below for past editions of the Newsletter:

January 2023: Environmental Health

November 2022: Behavior Change

September 2022: Hazard Mitigation

July 2022: Stream Restoration/Health

Publications

View All

Members

Heidi Bonnaffon (Chair), Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Address:
777 North Capitol Street NE
Suite 300
Washington, Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  hbonnaffon@mwcog.org
Michelle Edwards (Vice Chair), Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission
Address:
420 Southridge Pkwy
#106
Culpeper, Virginia 22701

Email:  medwards@rrregion.org
Laura Cattell Noll (Coordinator), Local Leadership Workgroup Coordinator, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 Sixth Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  lnoll@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Caroline Johnson (Staffer), Enhance Partnering, Leadership and Management Goal Implementation Team (GIT 6) Staffer, Chesapeake Research Consortium
Address:
1750 Forest Drive Suite 130
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  johnson.caroline@epa.gov
Martha Narvaez, University of Delaware
Address:
University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware 19716

Email:  mcorrozi@udel.edu
Jake Kline, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Address:


Email:  jake.kline@deq.virginia.gov
Phillip Stafford, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Address:
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  phillip.stafford@maryland.gov
Kathy Stecker, Maryland Department of the Environment
Address:
1800 Washington Boulevard
Baltimore, Maryland 21230

Email:  kathy.stecker@maryland.gov
Les Knapp, Maryland Association of Counties
Address:
169 Conduit St
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  lknapp@mdcounties.org
Megan Diehl, West Virginia Region 9 Planning and Development Council
Address:


Email:  mdiehl@region9wv.com
Megan Lehman, Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Address:
400 Market St
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101

Email:  meglehman@pa.gov
Julia Wakeling, District of Columbia Department of Energy & Environment (DOEE)
Address:
1200 First St NE
Washington d.c., Districtofcolumbia 20002

Email:  julia.wakeling@dc.gov
Jim Sullivan, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
Address:
100 W. Water Street - Suite 6B
Dover, Delaware 19904

Email:  James.Sullivan@state.de.us
Lauren Townley, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Address:
625 Broadway
Albany, Newyork 12233

Email:  lauren.townley@dec.ny.gov
Phone:  (518) 402-8283
Janet Thigpen, Southern Tier Central Regional Planning and Development Board (NY)
Address:


Email:  jthigpen@chemungcountyny.gov
Mark Hoffman, Chesapeake Bay Commission
Address:
60 West Street
Suite 406
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  mhoffman@chesbay.us
Phone:  (410) 263-3420
Edward Knittel, Pennsylvania State Association of Boroughs (PSAB)
Address:
2941 North Front Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17110

Email:  Eknittel@boroughs.org
Dominic Butchko, Maryland Association of Counties
Address:


Email:  dbutchko@mdcounties.org
Nancy Nunn, Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology
Address:
Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology, Inc. P.O. Box 169 124 Wye Narrows Drive
Queenstown, Maryland 21658

Email:  nnunn@umd.edu
James Hutzler, Virginia Association of Counties (VA)
Address:


Email:  jhutzler@vaco.org
Wendy Walsh, Upper Susquehanna Coalition
Address:
851 Chemung St
Horseheads, Newyork 14845

Email:  walshw@co.tioga.ny.us
Mitchell Smiley, Virginia Municipal League
Address:


Email:  msmiley@vml.org
James Wheeler, Environment Officer, Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors (PA)
Address:
4855 Woodland Dr.
Enola, Pennsylvania 17025

Email:  jwheeler@psats.org
Phone:  (717) 763-0930
Leslie Rhoads, Pennsylvania Municipal League
Address:


Email:  lrhoads@pml.org
David Wood, Chesapeake Stormwater Network
Address:
8030 Main St.
Ellicott city, Maryland 21043

Email:  wood.csn@outlook.com
Justin Fiore, Maryland Municipal League (MML)
Address:
1212 West Street
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Email:  justinf@mdmunicipal.org
Marcia Scott, Delaware League of Local Governments
Address:


Email:  msscott@udel.edu
Andy Fellows, Environmental Finance Center - UMD
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 20736

Email:  afellows@umd.edu
Don Phillips, Former Councilmember, Town of Laurel (DE)
Address:
205 Turtle Cove
#110
Laurel, Delaware 19956

Email:  hdonpj47@gmail.com
Phone:  (443) 359-1009
Jennifer Starr, Coordinator, Local Government Advisory Committee, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
Address:
501 6th St
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  jstarr@allianceforthebay.org
Phone:  (443) 949-0575
Shannon Moore, Frederick County (MD)
Address:
12 E. Church St.
Frederick, Maryland 21701

Email:  smoore@frederickcountymd.gov
Pam Shellenberger, York County (VA)
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  pshellenberger@ycpc.org
Jen Cotting, Environmental Finance Center - UMD
Address:
7480 Preinkert Drive
Preinkert Hall
College park, Maryland 20742

Email:  jcotting@umd.edu
Liz Feinberg, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Address:
000
Paoli, Pennsylvania 19301

Email:  liz.feinberg63@gmail.com
Tree Layton Zuzzio, Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development
Address:


Email:  tzuzzio@pa.gov
Kate Fritz, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Address:
14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive
Upper marlboro, Maryland 20772

Email:  Katharine.Fritz@ppd.mncppc.org
Phone:  (301) 952-5402
Matthew Pennington, State of West Virginia
Address:
410 Severn Avenue
Annapolis, Maryland 21403

Email:  mpennington@region9wv.com
Pat Calvert, Virginia Conservation Network
Address:
103 E Main St
Suite #1
Richmond, Virginia 23219

Email:  pat@vcnva.org