Text Size: A  A  A

Chesapeake Executive Council

Scope and Purpose

The Chesapeake Executive Council was established by the Chesapeake Bay Agreement of 1983. Under the 1987 Chesapeake Bay Agreement, membership changed from cabinet secretaries to the governors of Maryland, Pennsylvania and Virginia; the administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; the mayor of the District of Columbia; and the chair of the Chesapeake Bay Commission, a legislative body serving Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Chesapeake 2000 marked the official inclusion of the Bay’s “headwater states”—Delaware, New York and West Virginia—in the Bay Program’s restoration efforts. The governors of New York and Delaware committed to the agreement's water quality goals through a memorandum of understanding signed in 2000. The governor of West Virginia added his signature in 2002.

The Executive Council:

  • Establishes the policy direction for the restoration and protection of the Bay and its living resources.
  • Exerts leadership to marshall public support for the Bay effort.
  • Signs directives, agreements and amendments that set goals and guide policy for Bay restoration.
  • Is accountable to the public for progress made under the Bay agreements.

The Executive Council meets annually. Its Principals' Staff Committee meets as needed to facilitate communication among the Implementation Committee, the advisory committees (Citizens Advisory Committee, Local Government Advisory Committee and the Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee) and the Executive Council.

Executive Council Meetings

  • Larry Hogan (Chair), State of Maryland
  • Carin Bisland (Coordinator), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Laurel Abowd (Staff), Chesapeake Research Consortium

  • Muriel Bowser, District of Columbia
  • John Carney, State of Delaware
  • Andrew Cuomo, State of New York
  • Garth Everett, Chesapeake Bay Commission
  • Jim Justice, State of West Virginia
  • Terry McAuliffe, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Scott Pruitt, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Tom Wolf, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

410 Severn Avenue / Suite 112
Annapolis, Maryland 21403
Tel: (800) YOUR-BAY / Fax: (410) 267-5777
Directions to the Bay Program Office
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
©2012 Chesapeake Bay Program | All Rights Reserved